主要内容顶部

恐惧笼罩市场:明智投资者的应对策略

虽然投资者形式多样、规模各异,但他们目前都有一个共同点:恐惧。尽管环球股市在 2020 年初开局表现强劲,但今年迄今已下跌约 15%。关于美国股市能否持续牛市的问题,如今得到一个响亮回答:不能。全球疫情引发抛售大多数人都始料不及,摆在眼前的事实是美国股市现在正式步入熊市,较 2 月份高位下跌了 20% 以上。

沽压广泛蔓延之下,大多数股市都遭受重创。即便是被认为更具「防御性」的行业,例如医疗保健或公用事业,在此次抛售潮中也未能幸免。凭借后见之明,其实这应该不足为奇,因为在严重危机期间,往往在短期内几乎所有股票都难逃一跌。相反,任何被认为是稍稍安全的政府债券都有很高需求,而作为众所周知的避险胜地,现在的债券收益率甚至比之前更低。

要思考这种波动性,或许最好想一想天秤的两端。天秤的一端,投资者对世界感到担忧,不断在问:疫情还会恶化到那种程度?对经济和企业又有什么影响?

天秤的另一端,世界各地当局正在采取的措施:限制病毒传播的监控和限制措施;透过货币刺激措施来降低企业的偿债成本;透过财政刺激政策来支持易受冲击的消费者撑过这一段严峻时期。各国政府正竭尽全力推出政策,如美联储将利率下调至零,及欧洲央行上调的量化宽松政策。 如今,人们的注意力都集中在政府将注入多少财政刺激。

每一条新信息,投资者都需要咀嚼消化。面对影响尚不明朗的新情况时,就如冠状病毒疫情一样,投资者可能会认为先行沽出再弄清形势,才是稳妥做法。出于此原因,随着更多有关冠状病毒疫情及其对经济和金融影响的消息传出,市场在短期内起伏波动应是预期之内。

天秤上的金融市场:它向哪个方向倾斜?

未来数月引导投资者的四大主题

投资者可能会做但又最要不得的事情之一,便是沽出大量或全部股票,尤其是当他们已经损失惨重之时。

在动荡时期无论是升是跌,市场波幅都会大于平常。如果此刻离场,投资者可能会错过大幅上涨的收益。事实上,只要投资者错过了一部分收益较大的日子,他们的投资组合就会严重受创。诚然,2004 年至 2014 年 1数据显示,仅错过此期间 20 个表现最佳的日子,投资组合就会损失惨重。

把握市场时机极其困难。事实上,正确的策略应该是关注留在市场的时间,而非盘算市场的时机。

我们认为,经济前景很可能仍不明朗,预计波动将持续,市场继续拉锯。情况不会在一夜之间消失,也许是有点不幸。有鉴于此,我们对未来 3 个月的投资观点做出若干短期调整。

短期而言,我们将全球股票评级从「偏高」下调至「中性」,原因是我们预期短期内企业盈利将会显著恶化,尤其是在对全球股市举足轻重的发达国家,情况更甚。我们要强调的是,此次温和降级并不意味投资者应该沽出所有股票。评级反映了市场短期风险增加,投资者应考虑适当微调投资组合以反映这一点。

我们正在将投资级别企业债券从「偏低」上调至「中性」。政府债券收益率低处未算低,现在更不具吸引力,而投资级别企业债券相对于核心政府债券的超额收益率则更为吸引。企业债券的定价更为合理,部分反映了全球衰退和企业盈利恶化的风险。

我们维持对核心政府债券的「偏低」评级,但同意这些债券在多元化投资组合中仍有一席之地。尽管核心政府债券在市场波动面前表现理想,但其收益率现在空前偏低,我们担忧这些债券能否继续升势,并提供相同的多元化好处。无论如何,在动荡时期这些债券的表现应会继续保持坚挺。

如果投资者最近未优化其投资组合,他们现在就应该立即行动,确保他们所承担的风险符合其风险承受能力。投资组合内应该要包括政府和企业发行的优质债券,即使核心政府债券现在估值更贵。如此配置应被视为一种投资组合防范措施,尤其是在短期防范措施。

因此由于核心政府债券等传统避险资产目前估值更昂贵,容易找到又便宜的避险胜地已成绝响。我们已列举投资级别企业债券作为替代投资的例子。然而,必须强调企业债券乃由公司而非政府发行,相较于核心政府债券,企业债券与股市的相关性更高。

因此,投资者应进一步考虑分散其投资组合的其他方法。如有可用的另类投资策略是旨在提供与市场表现不相关的绝对回报,不论市况如何,这都可能是一种有用的分散投资工具。

黄金是另一种历来在波动激增时表现良好的资产类别。不过当前的金价相当高,以现时价格来看,难以十分看好黄金。尽管如此,黄金在艰难时期仍是有用的保值手段,我们预计现时甚至更低的利率,加上短期内市场持续波动,金价将继续有支持。

如上述方法均不适合投资者,在短期不明朗时期,由全职专业人士针对风险目标或预算作出投资决策、更为传统的多元资产投资组合将是明智之选。

不确定性往往伴随机遇。投资者现时有机会以较低的价格投资股票市场。我们的观点是,随着病毒及其影响蔓延,经济疲软料将持续整年。我们认为,危机造成的经济弱势及不确定性不会永远存在。对于长期投资者而言,了解这一点很重要,因为即使股市短期内仍可能剧烈波动,但当前是入市价格的较低位。谨记,尝试看准市场时机及推断绝对最低价位均十分困难。

目前,我们认为新兴市场股票,尤其是亚洲的新兴市场股票,似乎较成熟市场股票更具吸引力。例如,与欧元区及日本相比,新兴市场有更大空间推出政策措施,实际上,中国及某些其他亚洲市场当局已采取了进取的财政及货币措施支持经济。能源价格下降亦应有利于属非石油经济体的新兴市场。

亚洲虽然不得不比世界其他地区提前几个月应对冠状病毒爆发,但可以说,亚洲距恢复一些正常生活的日子已不远,亚洲经济会因而受益,相应地亦有利于新兴市场及亚洲投资。

本文件乃由香港中环皇后大道中 1 号香港上海汇丰银行有限公司(「香港上海汇丰」)编制。香港上海汇丰于香港注册成立,为汇丰集团的一部分。本文件由加拿大汇丰银行(包括其附属公司汇丰投资基金(加拿大)有限公司(「HIFC」)、汇丰私人财富管理服务(加拿大)有限公司(「HPWS」),以及汇丰证券(加拿大)有限公司的分支机构汇丰投资通(「HIDC」)、汇丰银行(中国)有限公司、法国汇丰、香港上海汇丰及汇丰银行(新加坡)有限公司(合称「发布方」)向其客户分发。本文件仅供一般传阅及参考用途。

无论基于任何原因,本文件所载之部分或全部内容均不得复制或进一步发放予任何人士或实体。如于某司法管辖区内分派本文件属违法,则不得于该司法管辖区内分派本文件。所有未经允许之复制或使用本文件,均属使用者的责任,并有机会引致法律诉讼。本文件只提供一般性数据,文件内所载的观点,不应被视为投资研究、出售或购入投资产品的意见或建议。文件内所载的部分陈述可能会被视为前瞻性陈述, 并提供目前预测或未来的事件预估。相关的前瞻性陈述对未来表现或事件概不作出保证,并涉及风险及不确定性。基于多项因素,实际结果可能与相关前瞻性陈述大不相同。香港上海汇丰及分销商对更新本文件内的前瞻性陈述,或对提供实际结果与前瞻性陈述的预测不同的原因,不作出任何承诺。本文件并无契约效力,在任何情况下,于任何司法管辖范围内均不应被视为促销或建议购入或出售任何金融工具,而此等建议并不合法。本文件所载内容反映汇丰环球投资管理于编制文件时的观点及意见,可能随时变更。这些观点未必代表汇丰环球投资管理目前的投资组合分布。汇丰环球投资管理所管理的个别投资组合主要反映个别客户的目标、风险取向、投资期限及市场流动性。

投资涉及风险。投资价值及所得收益可升亦可跌,投资者有机会未能取回投资本金。本文所载之过去业绩并不代表将来的表现。本文所载之任何预测、估计及模拟均不应被视为将来表现的指标。任何涉及海外市场的投资,均有机会受到汇率兑换所影响而令投资价值上升或下跌。与已发展市场相比,新兴市场投资涉及较高风险,而且较为波动。新兴市场的经济大幅取决于国际贸易,因此一直以来并可能继续会受贸易壁垒、外汇管制、相对币值控制调整及其他贸易国实施或协商的保障措施不利影响。而此等经济体系亦会或继续受到其他贸易国的经济状况的负面影响。互惠基金投资涉及市场风险,请细阅所有与投资相关的文件。本文件就近期经济环境提供基本概要,仅供参考。文件并非按照旨在促进投资研究独立性的法律规定编制,并且分发前不受任何禁止交易规定的约束。本文件不拟提供且投资者不应加以依赖以作会计、法律或税务意见。作出任何投资决策之前,应咨询财务顾问。如选择不咨询财务顾问,则须审慎考虑投资产品是否适合。建议在必要时寻求适当的专业意见。我们对于任何第三方数据的准确性及/或完整性所引致的损失概不负责。有关资产乃取自我们相信可靠的来源,然而我们并无作出独立查证。

有关汇丰环球投资管理(加拿大)有限公司(「AMCA」)的重要数据

汇丰环球投资管理从事投资顾问和基金管理业务,包含多间公司,由汇丰控股有限公司最终持有。汇丰环球投资管理(加拿大)有限公司为加拿大汇丰银行的全资附属公司,属独立实体。

有关汇丰投资基金(加拿大)有限公司(「HIFC」)的重要数据

汇丰投资基金(加拿大)有限公司是汇丰互惠基金的主要分销商,并为汇丰集合基金提供汇丰环球智选投资组合服务。汇丰投资基金(加拿大)有限公司是汇丰环球投资管理(加拿大)有限公司的附属公司,同时是加拿大汇丰银行的间接附属公司。汇丰投资基金(加拿大)有限公司在加拿大所有省份(爱德华王子岛除外)提供其产品及服务。互惠基金投资受风险影响,请在投资前阅读基金数据。

有关汇丰私人财富管理服务(加拿大)有限公司(「HPWS」)的重要数据

汇丰私人财富管理服务(加拿大)有限公司是加拿大汇丰银行的直接附属公司,其服务遍及加拿大各省(爱德华王子岛省除外)。私人投资管理服务是汇丰私人财富管理服务(加拿大)有限公司提供的全权委托投资组织者服务。根据这项全权委托服务,参与客户的资产将由汇丰私人财富管理服务或其委托的投资组合经理投资于证券,包括但不限于股票、债券、汇集基金、互惠基金和衍生工具。作为私人投资管理服务的一部分,投资或购买的价值可能频繁变化,以往的表现可能未必重复。

有关汇丰投资通(「HIDC」)的重要资料

汇丰投资通 (HSBC InvestDirect) 是汇丰证券(加拿大)有限公司的分支机构,以及加拿大汇丰银行的直接附属公司,属独立实体。汇丰投资通 (HSBC InvestDirect) 仅提供执行订单服务。汇丰投资通 (HSBC InvestDirect) 不会对客户账户结存或客户或其授权代表交易的任何人提交的订单进行适合性评估。客户对其投资决策和证券交易承担全部责任。

本文件的内容未经任何香港或任何其他司法管辖区的监管机构审阅。

建议您就相关投资及本文件内容审慎行事。如您对本文件的内容有任何疑问,应向独立人士寻求专业意见。

© Copyright 2020。香港上海汇丰银行有限公司。保留一切权利。到期日:2020 年 9月 30日。

未经香港上海汇丰银行有限公司事先书面许可,不得以任何形式或任何方式(无论是电子、机械、影印、摄录或其他方式)复制或传送本刊物任何部分或将其任何部分储存于检索系统内。

相关资讯

Top of main content

Fear in the Markets: The Smart Investor’s Response

Investors come in many shapes and sizes, but right now they all have one thing in common: fear. The global stock market is down about 20% for the year now. The question of whether US stocks can sustain their bull run has been answered with a resounding “no”. While few would have predicted that a global pandemic would trigger the selloff, the US is now formally in bear-market territory, having fallen over 20% from its peak in February.

The selloff has been widespread across most markets globally, with even traditionally “defensive” sectors like healthcare or utilities falling victim. The selloff has been non-discerning across different industry sectors. On the flipside, any government bond that’s considered even remotely safe has been in high demand, and bond yields are now even lower than before. Witness the proverbial “flight to safety”.

Financial markets are delicately balanced

 

Which way will they tip?

Imagine our current volatility as a weighing scale. On one side are investors, fearful for the global economy and wondering how much worse the virus will get.

On the other side, we have the measures taken by authorities around the world. These include control and limitation measures to limit viral spread, monetary stimulus to lower the cost of corporate debt and fiscal stimulus to support vulnerable consumers through this challenging period. The authorities have not held back so far, with the US Federal Reserve cutting interest rates to zero and the European Central Bank increasing quantitative easing. Attention is now focussed on how much fiscal stimulus governments will inject.

Investors eagerly process each new bit of information. When the implications of a new development are unclear (as in the case of coronavirus), they may well feel that the only safe option is to sell now and figure it all out later. We should therefore expect markets to be choppy and volatile in the short term, as further news breaks about the virus and its economic and financial implications.

Four themes to guide investors over the coming months

One of the worst things an investor can do right now is sell all, or even a substantial chunk, of their equities – especially if they’ve already suffered significant losses.

In volatile times, market movements tend to be larger than normal – up as well as down. So, if you’ve cashed out, you risk missing out on large gains upwards. In fact, missing even one day of major gains can be damaging. According to data from 2004 to 20142, portfolios that missed out on the top 20 performing days during this period would have been significantly harmed.

Whereas “timing the market” is notoriously difficult, the right strategy is, in fact, to focus on “time in the market”.

2The period 2004 to 2014 was selected because it includes the Global Financial Crisis and European Debt Crisis, along with other volatile periods.

We expect the economic outlook to remain uncertain, with see-sawing markets and persistent volatility, and have therefore made several short-term changes to our investment views (covering the next 3 months).

We are downgrading global equities from Overweight to Neutral, on the expectation that corporate earnings will deteriorate significantly in the short-term, particularly in developed markets. We still think equities are an attractive investment over the long term but caution is warranted for now. We stress this is a modest reduction and NOT a call to sell everything.

We are upgrading investment grade corporate bonds from Underweight to Neutral. With yields on government bonds now even lower, the excess yield available on investment grade corporate bonds looks more attractive. Corporate bonds are also more reasonably priced, and reflect some of the risks of a global recession, as well as deterioration in corporate earnings.

Although we’re maintaining our Underweight position on core government bonds, we acknowledge that they still have a place in a diversified portfolio. While these assets have performed well during volatile times, with their yields at an unprecedented low we do have concerns about their ability to rally much further (and offer the same diversification benefits). Nonetheless, they should continue to hold up well in the current volatility.

It’s vital that you take steps now to optimise your portfolio, while ensuring the right level of exposure for your risk tolerance. That means including high quality bonds, even though valuations on core government bonds are particularly expensive right now. These allocations should be looked on as a form of portfolio insurance, particularly for the short-term.

Since traditional safe-haven assets like core government bonds are so expensive, there’s nowhere cheap or easy to hide. We’ve already mentioned investment grade corporate bonds as an alternative, but it must be stressed that since these bonds are issued by companies and not governments, they do have a higher correlation with the stock market.

Because of this, investors should consider additional ways of diversifying. Alternative investment strategies, which aim to deliver absolute returns uncorrelated to market conditions, should be considered if available.

Gold is another asset that traditionally performs well during volatility, although prices are currently very high, making it hard to be bullish. But gold is still a useful store of value in times like these and we expect prices to be supported by even lower interest rates and continued short-term volatility.

If neither of these approaches is readily available, a more traditional multi-asset portfolio approach, where investment decisions are made by full-time professionals against your risk target or budget, would be a smart option amid the current uncertainty.

With uncertainty comes opportunity. This matters to long-term investors because cheaper entry points to global equity markets now exist. This means that long-term prospective returns on equities are now higher than they were before, making them more attractive for investors with a longer-term time horizon. Remember that it’s extremely difficult to time the market and call the absolute bottom so it’s worth considering the opportunities.

Within equities, we think that Emerging Market (EM) equities, particularly in Asia are especially attractive from a long-term perspective. Emerging Markets have more scope for policy action than, say, the Eurozone and Japan, and indeed we’ve already seen authorities in China and other Asian markets take aggressive fiscal and monetary action to support the economy. Lower energy prices should also help EM markets that are “nonpetro” economies.

Because Asia was forced to confront the coronavirus a few months before the rest of the world, the continent is arguably closer to returning to some semblance of normal life. This can only be positive Asian economies and, correspondingly, for EM and Asian investments.

This document is prepared by The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited (‘HBAP’), 1 Queen’s Road Central, Hong Kong. HBAP is incorporated in Hong Kong and is part of the HSBC Group. This document is distributed by HSBC Bank Canada (including its subsidiaries HSBC Investment Funds (Canada) Inc. (‘HIFC’), HSBC Private Wealth Services (Canada) Inc. (‘HPWS’), and the HSBC InvestDirect (‘HIDC’) division within HSBC Securities (Canada) Inc.), HSBC Bank (China) Company Limited, HSBC France, HBAP, HSBC Bank (Singapore) Limited, HSBC Bank Middle East Limited (UAE) and HSBC UK Bank Plc (collectively, the “Distributors”) to their respective clients. This document is for general circulation and information purposes only.

The contents of this document may not be reproduced or further distributed to any person or entity, whether in whole or in part, for any purpose. This document must not be distributed in any jurisdiction where its distribution is unlawful. All nonauthorised reproduction or use of this document will be the responsibility of the user and may lead to legal proceedings. The material contained in this document is for general information purposes only and does not constitute investment research or advice or a recommendation to buy or sell investments. Some of the statements contained in this document may be considered forward looking statements which provide current expectations or forecasts of future events. Such forward looking statements are not guarantees of future performance or events and involve risks and uncertainties. Actual results may differ materially from those described in such forward-looking statements as a result of various factors. HBAP and the Distributors do not undertake any obligation to update the forward-looking statements contained herein, or to update the reasons why actual results could differ from those projected in the forward-looking statements. This document has no contractual value and is not by any means intended as a solicitation, nor a recommendation for the purchase or sale of any financial instrument in any jurisdiction in which such an offer is not lawful. The views and opinions expressed herein have been sourced from HSBC Global Asset Management at the time of preparation, and are subject to change at any time. These views may not necessarily indicate HSBC Global Asset Management‘s current portfolios’ composition. Individual portfolios managed by HSBC Global Asset Management primarily reflect individual clients’ objectives, risk preferences, time horizon, and market liquidity.

Investment involves risk. The value of investments and the income from them can go down as well as up and investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Past performance contained in this document is not a reliable indicator of future performance whilst any forecasts, projections and simulations contained herein should not be relied upon as an indication of future results. Where overseas investments are held the rate of currency exchange may cause the value of such investments to go down as well as up. Investments in emerging markets are by their nature higher risk and potentially more volatile than those inherent in some established markets.

Economies in emerging markets generally are heavily dependent upon international trade and, accordingly, have been and may continue to be affected adversely by trade barriers, exchange controls, managed adjustments in relative currency values and other protectionist measures imposed or negotiated by the countries with which they trade. These economies also have been and may continue to be affected adversely by economic conditions in the countries in which they trade. Investments are subject to market risks, read all investment related documents carefully.

This document provides a high level overview of the recent economic environment and has been prepared for information purposes only. It has not been prepared in accordance with legal requirements designed to promote the independence of investment research and is not subject to any prohibition on dealing ahead of its dissemination. It is not intended to provide and should not be relied on for accounting, legal or tax advice. Before you make any investment decision, you may wish to consult a financial adviser. In the event that you choose not to seek advice from a financial adviser, you should carefully consider whether the investment product is suitable for you. You are advised to obtain appropriate professional advice where necessary.

We accept no responsibility for the accuracy and/or completeness of any third party information obtained from sources we believe to be reliable but which have not been independently verified.

Important Information about HSBC Global Asset Management (Canada) Limited (“AMCA”)

HSBC Global Asset Management is a group of companies that are engaged in investment advisory and fund management activities, which are ultimately owned by HSBC Holdings plc. AMCA is a wholly owned subsidiary of, but separate entity from, HSBC Bank Canada.

Important Information about HSBC Investment Funds (Canada) Inc. (“HIFC”) 

HIFC is the principal distributor of the HSBC Mutual Funds and offers the HSBC Pooled Funds through the HSBC World Selection Portfolio service. HIFC is a subsidiary of AMCA, and indirect subsidiary of HSBC Bank Canada, and provides its products and services in all provinces of Canada except Prince Edward Island. Mutual fund investments are subject to risks. Please read the Fund Facts before investing.

Important Information about HSBC Private Wealth Services (Canada) Inc. (“HPWS”) 

HPWS is a direct subsidiary of HSBC Bank Canada and provides services in all provinces of Canada except Prince Edward Island. The Private Investment Management service is a discretionary portfolio management service offered by HPWS. Under this discretionary service, assets of participating clients will be invested by HPWS or its delegated portfolio manager in securities, including but not limited to, stocks, bonds, pooled funds, mutual funds and derivatives. The value of an investment in or purchased as part of the Private Investment Management service may change frequently and past performance may not be repeated.

Important Information about HSBC InvestDirect (“HIDC”) 

HIDC is a division of HSBC Securities (Canada) Inc., a direct subsidiary of, but separate entity from, HSBC Bank Canada. HIDC is an order execution only service. HIDC will not conduct suitability assessments of client account holdings or of the orders submitted by clients or from anyone authorized to trade on the client’s behalf. Clients have the sole responsibility for their investment decisions and securities transactions.

We accept no responsibility for the accuracy and/or completeness of any third party information obtained from sources we believe to be reliable but which have not been independently verified.

THE CONTENTS OF THIS DOCUMENT HAVE NOT BEEN REVIEWED BY ANY REGULATORY AUTHORITY IN HONG KONG OR ANY OTHER JURISDICTION. 

YOU ARE ADVISED TO EXERCISE CAUTION IN RELATION TO THE INVESTMENT AND THIS DOCUMENT. IF YOU ARE IN DOUBT ABOUT ANY OF THE CONTENTS OF THIS DOCUMENT, YOU SHOULD OBTAIN INDEPENDENT PROFESSIONAL ADVICE.

© Copyright 2020. The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited, ALL RIGHTS RESERVED. Expiry 30/09/2020. 

No part of this document may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, on any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording or otherwise, without the prior written permission of The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited.

Related Articles