主內容首部

環境、社會和管治(ESG)躍為主流投資策略

18/04/2019
ESG
理財錦囊

環境、社會和管治(ESG)躍 為主流投資策略

環境、社會和管治(Environmental, social and governance, ESG)近年快速冒起,漸漸成為金融市場的主流策略。企業將ESG因素納入其營運準則,已是大勢所趨。ESG策略有助創建一個更加美好的社會,減少對環境及社會的損害,同時亦能締造豐富多彩的機遇。

 

1資料來源﹕路透社,2019年1月3日。

2資料來源﹕《通用數據保障條例》,2019年3月。違反該條例的每次最高罰款額為2,000萬歐元或企業營業額的4%。

3資料來源﹕羅兵咸永道,《2018年度企業董事調查報告》。

違反ESG相關的風險案例

企業除了以盈利為目標,也具有社會和環境責任。而忽略ESG因素的企業,不單有可能危害供應鏈安全,也會對企業的商譽及股價造成重大打擊。

社會責任投資資產規模快速增長4

電動車 銷量闖高峰

社會對環境問題日益關注,加上電池科技發展一日千里,電動汽車將越來越普遍,預料2040年全球電動汽車銷量將達2015年的90倍,佔整體車銷量的35%5

 

4資料來源﹕Global Sustainable Investment Review,2016年。

5資料來源﹕彭博新能源財經,2016年2月25日。

6資料來源﹕巴克萊,2018年7月25日。

千禧一代 成ESG推手

千禧一代關注環境及社會問題,高達43%的40歲以下受訪者表示,曾作出相關的投資6

低碳投資 綻放光芒

ESG表現良好的企業通常管治較佳,具有長遠的可持續發展優勢。將ESG因素融入投資過程之中,既為社會帶來裨益,也可有效管理風險,為投資者帶來潛在機會。

ESG投資策略通常如何運作7 ?

低碳投資策略三大好處7

低碳投資是ESG策略中的重要一環,致力管理氣候變化風險,也為投資者帶來機遇。不論股票或債券,均享有跨區域、跨行業的多元優勢。

 

7資料來源:彭博,滙豐環球投資管理,僅供說明之用。

8資料來源:彭博,滙豐環球投資管理,淨總回報指數(以美元計算),截至2019年2月底。

投資附帶風險,過去的業績並不代表將來的表現。

支持低碳投資概念,不代表犧牲投資回報8

本文件只提供一般性資料,並不針對任何可能收到本文件的人士的具體投資目標、財務狀況和特別需求。在此表達之意見可因應情況修改而不作另行通知。本文件並非銷售文件,且不構成建議、要約出售或招攬購買或認購任何投資。本文件所載任何預測、預計或目標僅供説明用途,且並非任何形式的保證。滙豐環球投資管理(香港)有限公司(「滙豐環球投資管理」)就預測、預計或目標未能達成概不承擔任何責任。本文件內的資料乃取自滙豐環球投資管理合理地相信可靠的來源。然而,無論明示或暗示,滙豐環球投資管理不保證、擔保或代表本文件內該等資料的準確性、有效性或完整性。投資附帶風險,過去的業績並不代表將來的表現。請參閱銷售文件以便獲取其它資料,包括風險因素。此文件並未經證券及期貨事務監察委員會批閱。

版權 © HSBC Global Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited (滙豐環球投資管理(香港)有限公司)2019。版權所有。本文件由HSBC Global Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited(滙豐環球投資管理(香港)有限公司)刊發。

www.assetmanagement.hsbc.com/hk

今天的決定,造就長遠未來。

Top of main content

Environmental, social and governance (ESG) going mainstream

18/04/2019
investment tips
ESG

Environmental, social and governance (ESG) going mainstream

Environmental, Social and Governance (ESG) as a concept has gained wide currency in recent years. As the financial market attaches increasing importance to it, a growing number of companies also consider the inclusion of ESG factors into their operational principles an imperative. Such strategy helps build a better world, reduce damage to the environment and society, and create wonderful opportunities.

ESG violations

Profitability should not be the only thing that companies strive for. Social and environmental responsibilities are just as well important. Overlooking ESG factors not only threatens the supply chain, but also puts a company’s goodwill and stock prices at risk.

Exponential growth in socially responsible investments4

Sales of electric vehicles reach new highs

Driven by environmental concerns and significant advancement in battery technology, sales of electric vehicles are expected to increase by 90 times between 2015 and 2040, and account for 35% of total car sales5.

Millennials a big driving force behind ESG

Millennials are concerned about environmental and social issues. Up to 43% of the survey respondents aged 40 or below said that they had made relevant investments previously6.

 

Lower - carbon investment opportunities shine

Companies with good ESG performance tend to have better corporate governance, and hence the advantage of long-term sustainability. Integrating ESG factors into the process of investing not only brings benefits to society, but also effectively manages risks, and creates opportunities for investors.

How does ESG investing work?7

Three advantages of lower-carbon investment strategies7

Lower-carbon investing is an important aspect of ESG strategy. It actively manages climate change risks while bringing opportunities to investors. Both lower-carbon equity and bond strategies provide diversification benefits across geographies and sectors.

Applying lower-carbon strategies does not mean sacrificing investment returns8

7 Source: HSBC Global Asset Management. For illustrative purposes only.

8 Source: Bloomberg, HSBC Global Investment Management, net total return indices (in USD terms), as of end February 2019.

Investment involves risks. Past performance is not indicative of future performance.

This document is prepared for general information purposes only and does not have any regard to the specific investment objectives, financial situation and the particular needs of any specific person who may receive it. Any views and opinions expressed are subject to change without notice. This document does not constitute an oering document and should not be construed as a recommendation, an oer to sell or the solicitation of an oer to purchase or subscribe to any investment. Any forecast, projection or target where provided is indicative only and is not guaranteed in any way. HSBC Global Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited (“AMHK”) accepts no liability for any failure to meet such forecast, projection or target. AMHK has based this document on information obtained from sources it reasonably believes to be reliable. However, AMHK does not warrant, guarantee or represent, expressly or by implication, the accuracy, validity or completeness of such information. Investment involves risk. Past performance is not indicative of future performance. Please refer to the oering document for further details including the risk factors. This document has not been reviewed by the Securities and Futures Commission.

Copyright © HSBC Global Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited 2019. All rights reserved. This document is issued by HSBC Global Asset Management (Hong Kong) Limited.

www.assetmanagement.hsbc.com/hk

Making choices today that impact our tomorrow.
Our staff can help you get started in your investment journey