2017年至今,香港警方已接獲逾600宗WhatsApp騙案的舉報,受害人的損失總額更超過900萬港元。而單在2019年首三個月,被騙金額已達280萬港元。

當中,很多騙案都是網絡罪犯盜用他人的WhatsApp賬戶,然後向通訊錄的聯絡人發訊息要求金錢。由於受害人誤以為是家人或好友發出訊息,所以很多人都會依從騙徒的指示。

在近期一宗備受關注的案件中,一名男子收到「姐姐」用WhatsApp發出的訊息,要求他代買網上遊戲點數卡,然後以炒價轉售給玩家。他依從「姐姐」的指示,購買共值43萬港元的點數卡,並告訴「姐姐」點數卡的啟用碼,最終發現被騙。

為免墮入同類騙案,您應該注意以下6大守則。

1. 加強保安設定

WhatsApp和許多其他通訊軟件一樣設有「雙重驗證」功能,讓您設定一個6位PIN碼,加強賬戶安全。有時您需要輸入PIN碼,才能查看訊息。如果您想用另一個電話號碼註冊WhatsApp,也需要輸入這個密碼。

這個方法雖然很簡單,卻十分有效。即使黑客取得您的登入資料,也不能在他們的電話載入您的WhatsApp賬戶。

2. 時刻將個人資料保密

切勿透露自己的銀行資料、PIN碼或密碼,包括您的身分證、信用卡、任何敏感文件或表格的副本或相片。因為只要別人點一下「轉發」,您的資料就可以分享給所有人知道。

就算您非常肯定對方的身分,也一定要記住這些規則。畢竟,他們的手機也有被人盜用的風險,騙徒可以由此取得您的銀行資料。

3. 避免點擊圖片或連結

除非您絕對肯定訊息由您信任的人傳送,否則切勿點擊訊息中的連結。但就算您認識發訊息的人,如果他們叫您做個調查、玩個遊戲或者轉發訊息,就可以拿到獎品、禮物或禮券,也不要點擊當中的連結。這些好到令人難以置信的甜頭,多數都是騙案。您可以在網上搜尋一下,看看是否有可信的例子,或者關於騙案或網上罪行的警告。

4. 詳細了解所用的通信軟件

了解通信軟件的所有私隱與保安設定,並確保您己經採用適當設置。

以WhatsApp來說,不少人都曾收到由自稱應用程式管理層發出的訊息,墜入騙局。緊記,WhatsApp的網站已表明絕不會要求用戶:

    • 下載額外項目
    • 點擊任何連結前往另一網站或啟動新服務
    • 支付服務使用費
    • 轉寄訊息

若您收到的訊息自稱由WhatsApp發出,並要求您做上述任何一件事,您就應該將它刪除,並在WhatsApp的「設定」選擇「聯絡我們」,向WhatsApp舉報發訊人。

5. 相信直覺

與親友交流時,如果覺得不太對勁,就要格外留神。例如他們的說話異於尋常,又或者您的感覺不對,就應該加倍提防。特別當他們突然索取金錢時,就更加應該多加小心。

最了解家人和朋友的,非您莫屬。您可以叫「親友」打給您,和他們直接商量。如果他們表示不能打給您,您可以「旁敲側擊」,問一些只有親朋好友才會知道的問題。

6. 使用最新版本的通訊軟件

通訊軟件會不斷改善保安功能、修復程式錯誤和堵塞漏洞,以免被不法分子利用。所以,要受到全面保護,就應該使用最新版本的應用程式。你可以啟用軟件自動更新功能,或定期檢查有没有新版本可以下載。

 

時刻提高警覺

雖然這些是WhatsApp使用守則,但騙徒不會只用WhatsApp騙錢。在使用其他通訊軟件時,您也可以用這些策略保護自己。

滙豐一直致力保障您的網上保安與財務安全。了解您還可以如何保護自己

了解更多網上及流動理財相關文章

Hong Kong police have received more than 600 reports of WhatsApp fraud since 2017. Worse still, victims have lost more than HKD9 million to swindlers in that time – HKD2.8 million in the first three months of 2019 alone.

A lot of the scams involve the cyber-criminal hacking someone’s WhatsApp account and using it to send payment requests to people in their contact list. The victims who receive the message believe that it is coming from a family member or close friend, and are more likely to follow the instructions.

In a recent high-profile case, a man received a message from his sister’s account telling him that he should buy top-up cards for online games and then resell them at a higher price to eager players. He followed the suggestion, buying HKD430,000 worth of cards and giving the PINs to the hacker, thinking it was his sister. It wasn’t. The money was gone.

Here are 6 things you can do to protect yourself from scams like this

1. Maximise your security settings

WhatsApp and many other messaging services let you enable ‘2-step verification’, which requires you to create a 6-digit PIN. You'll occasionally need to enter this PIN to view your messages, and you'll also need it in case you ever want to register your WhatsApp to a different phone number.

It's a very simple but powerful tool, because even if a hacker manages to get your log in details, they won’t be able to load your WhatsApp account on their phone.

2. Keep private details private

Never share your bank details, PIN codes or passwords. This also includes images of your ID cards, credit cards or any sensitive documents or forms. All it takes is one tap of the 'Forward' button, and your info can be shared with the world.

Remember these rules even if you are completely sure of who you are talking to. After all, there's always a possibility that their phone could get hacked in the future, meaning your financial details could be shared with scammers.

3. Avoid clicking pics or links

Never click a photo, gif or link in a message unless you are absolutely sure it is from someone you trust. Even then, avoid clicking anything that promises you anything like a prize, reward or voucher for doing a survey, playing a game, or forwarding the message. If the offer sounds too good to be true, it probably is. Try googling the details of the offer to establish if there are legitimate examples, or warnings of a scam or cyber-crime.

4. Get to know the product

Make sure you understand (and are using) all of the privacy and security settings on the app.

For WhatsApp in particular, many people fall victim to scams in messages claiming to be from the app's management. Remember that the company clearly states on its website that it will never ask you to:

    ● download anything extra
    ● tap a link, either to go to another site, or to activate a new service
    ● pay for using the service
    ● forward a message

If you receive a message claiming to be from WhatsApp that asks you to do any of these things, you should delete the message and report the sender to WhatsApp by going to Settings > Contact us.

5. Use common sense

If something seems off in a communication with a relative, like they're saying things they don't normally say or something just doesn't feel right about it, use caution – especially if they're suddenly asking for money.

You know your friends and family best. Ask them to call you so you can discuss it with them directly. If they say they are unable to call you, then do some digging and ask them some questions that only they would know the answer to.

6. Always make sure you are using the latest version of your messaging app

Apps are constantly improving their security features, fixing bugs and closing loopholes that criminals can exploit. But to take advantage of this, you'll need to keep your apps up to date. Either set them to auto-update or be sure to check regularly for new versions.

Be aware, everywhere

While many of the examples we've given here are about WhatsApp, fraudsters are just as happy to use other messaging apps to get their hands on your money. Fortunately, you can use similar strategies to protect yourself when using other apps.

HSBC is always looking out for your online safety and financial security. See what else you can do to help protect yourself.

Learn more about common online threats