香港人热爱旅游,2017年在赴日本、泰国和澳大利亚等热门地点的国际旅游上花费的金额高达255亿美元1。这么多人外出度假,在外游时保护自己和财产安全就十分重要。畅游外地时,不妨随身携带以下安全清单,远离网络犯罪:

1. 起飞前检查

我们说的不是要在起飞前打开窗户挡板,或者把座位竖起来,而是要检查手机和手提电脑是否已经安装最新的操作系统和应用程序。这项预防欺诈的保安措施是防范恶意软件和在线威胁的第一步,但因为出发后可能很难找到Wi-Fi下载所有更新,所以您应该提前做好准备。您也可以由实体编码器转用流动保安编码,更安全地使用网上银行服务,而且可以少带一件东西。

2. 锁定智能设备

将智能手机、手提电脑、平板电脑和保安设备等数字设备上锁,时刻以密码、指纹或脸部辨识作保护。我们也建议您缩短自动上锁的时限,令陌生人有较少机会操作您的手机屏幕和应用程序,加强移动保安。

更加有效的方法是︰不要将设备放在您的视线范围以外,应该时刻看管您的设备,或将它放在酒店的保险柜里,确保安全。

3. 采用强度高的私人密码

保护个人资料至关重要,不要告诉别人任何设备、信用卡或借记卡的密码或PIN码,也不应把密码保存在自己的设备内,或者将它写在便签纸或记事本上。为每个设备设定不同的密码,也不要将网上理财密码用在其他设备上。您可以使用容易记住的密码,但不要使用一般单字或词组,也不要用您的个人资料作密码,例如宠物的名字、乳名或居住的城市等。您可以使用看似随机的组合,以字母(大写和小写)、数字和符号组成密码。对不知道箇中含义的人来说,这个组合可能好像“外星文字”,但对您却有特殊的意义,方便记忆。不知道从何入手?不妨参考我们关于创建高强度密码的建议。

4. 慎用公共Wi-Fi和蓝牙

免费Wi-Fi可以省下当地数据套餐,的确非常方便,却会威胁您的个人资料安全。而使用未经加密的网络,就更加危险。即使您只是用来检查电邮、使用社交媒体,仍然有机会泄露个人资料。但如果您必须用酒店的Wi-Fi上网,应该避免到访问任何包含或要求您提供个人资料的网站或资讯。有些场所会主动寻找开启了Wi-Fi或蓝牙功能的设备,在距离范围内记录您的行踪。为了避免这种情况,在不使用Wi-Fi或蓝牙功能时,就应该将它们关掉。

5. 避免以公开渠道传送敏感信息

如果需要使用酒店商务中心的电脑、打印机或电话,不要用它们传送敏感信息或私人资料。在公共电脑登录账户前,应该先确保这些网站或浏览器不会保存自己的登录信息,因为您不会知道接着谁会使用这台电脑。事情做完后,彻底退出所有页面,特别是银行或电邮账户。

6. 检查自动柜员机

如果旅程中要使用自动柜员机,在插入银行卡前,应该仔细看看柜员机。近年,有犯罪分子在自动柜员机安装十分像真的“空壳柜员机”,又曾在柜员机加装读卡器。当您把银行卡插入“空壳柜员机”或读卡器时,骗徒就能知道卡上的资料和PIN码。

就算自动柜员机没有异样,而且您也认得柜员机上可信的银行标志,也应该查看是否有“做假”的迹象。键盘遮罩是否容易松脱?柜员机是否有两个插槽,比平常多了一个?标示插卡处的箭头,是不是有点奇怪﹖按键摸起来是不是有点古怪?柜员机有没有任何部分好像被人改动过,看起来和旁边的不同?如果发现有这些问题,就不应该使用。

最安全的做法,就是在银行营业时间内使用分行的自动柜员机。就算柜员机“吞卡”,也可以请工作人员即时取回您的银行卡。如果您在使用其他自动柜员机时“吞卡”,就要致电我们的客户服务热线,但您就未必可以在旅程期间取回银行卡了。

然而,即使您肯定使用的自动柜员机没有问题,仍然需要提防那些偷看的人。不法分子或者装在“有利”位置的摄像头,可能会偷看您输入银行卡密码。所以使用自动柜员机时,应该保持警惕,尽量遮掩输入的动作,令其他人看不到您的密码。不妨了解一下安全使用自动柜员机的方法。

7. 保管好随身物品

记得在旅程时刻保管好个人财物,特别是在不同城市之间旅行时,更加要小心。最好不要把现金、信用卡、借记卡、手提电脑、手机和护照放在同一个地方。如果不幸遇上扒手,您可能会损失惨重,也会让扒手一下子取得您更多私人信息。在拥挤的地方,或者可能会分心时(例如一大群人进餐或者在热闹的市场购物),一定要保持警惕。

8. 旅程结尾

登上返程航班,不代表网络保安已经完成。如果您在海外用过当地网络或Wi-Fi,间谍软件可能已经潜藏在您的手机和手提电脑之中。回家后,应该尽快把安全和杀毒软件更新至最新版本,并更改设备的密码。

希望这些锦囊能够帮您确保境内和境外的网络安全。只使用一个锦囊,保护的范围未必足够,但如果多管齐下,就可以保护更多资料,令网络犯罪分子更难掌握您的身份信息、实施欺诈。我们还有许多其他建议,帮助您更加安全地理财。

正在计划旅程?不妨看看我们其他的安全旅游诀窍。 祝旅途愉快!

1 资料来源:Media Outreach的文章

了解更多网上及流动理财相关文章

Hongkongers are a travel loving bunch, spending a whopping USD25.5 billion on international tourism1 in 2017 to popular locations like Japan, Thailand and Australia. With so many of us taking flight, it's important to make sure you protect yourself and your money while you're away from home. Here's a handy checklist you can take along with your suitcases to keep cyber crime at bay:

1. Pre-flight checks

We're not just talking about keeping your window shades up or your seats upright before the plane takes off; it's important to ensure your smartphones and laptops have up-to-date operating systems and apps. These fraud prevention security measures are the first step in guarding against malware and other online threats and once you're abroad it might be tough finding Wi-Fi so you can download all your updates.

Once you've got that covered, consider the extra measure of ditching your physical token and switching to a Mobile Security Key. It'll ensure you have the top level of security for online banking, and you'll have one less gadget to carry with you.

2. Lock it down

Keep your digital devices - smartphones, laptops, tablets, and your security device - locked and secure with a password, fingerprint or facial ID at all times. Strengthen your mobile security by shortening the time your smartphone's auto lock mechanism takes to kick in, so strangers have less of a chance to grab hold of your mobile's active screen and apps.

Better yet: never leave your devices unattended. Keep them in your possession at all times, or safely secured in your hotel safe.

3. Keep your passwords private and strong

Personal data protection is pivotal. Never share the passwords or pin numbers for your devices, credit cards or debit cards with anyone. And don't save those passwords on your device either, or write them on post-its or notepads. Use a different password for each device, and don't use your online banking password for anything else. Choose one that will be easy for you to remember, but don't make it a normal word or phrase and don't use things that are associated with you, such as pet names, children’s names or the city you live in. Instead, use a (seemingly) random combination of at least eight letters (both upper and lower case), numbers and symbols. It might look like hieroglyphics to a stranger, but it could hold a special meaning for you so you can easily remember it. Need some inspiration? We've got some tips on how to create a strong password.

4. Be wary of public Wi-Fi and Bluetooth

While it's tempting to connect to any free Wi-Fi network you can find instead of purchasing a local data plan for your smartphone, this can pose a security threat to your personal data, especially if you use unencrypted networks. This is true even if you're just checking your email or social media. If you must use the hotel Wi-Fi platform to get online, avoid accessing any sites or data that contain or require your personal information.

Some venues actively look for devices with Wi-Fi or Bluetooth turned on so they can track your movements while you are within range. To avoid this, disable your Wi-Fi and Bluetooth when you're not using them.

5. Keep sensitive information off public channels

If you have to use the computer, printer or phone at your hotel's business centre, make sure you're not using them to communicate sensitive information or private data. Anytime you sign in to an account on a public computer, make sure that you don't allow the site or the browser to save your log-in details. You never know who will be using the computer afterwards. Once you're finished, log off completely from all the pages you opened, especially if you've had to access your bank or email accounts.

6. Check the ATMs

If you have to use an ATM during your trip, take a second look before sliding in your bank card. In recent years we've seen scams like shell ATMs being set up to look exactly like the real thing, or ATM skimmers – malicious card readers – being attached to actual ATMs. If you put your bank card into one of those, it's not cash that comes out, but your card data and PIN – and it goes straight into the hands of the fraudsters.

Even if an ATM looks legitimate and is branded as that of a reputable bank you recognise, check for signs that it might be a fake. Does the pin shield detach easily from the machine? Are there two slots instead of just one insert your card into the machine? Are the arrows directing you to insert your card positioned oddly and does the keypad feel strange to the touch? Does any part of the ATM look like it's been tampered with and does it look different from the machine next to it? If so, don't use it.

Your safest bet is to use an ATM in a branch, during bank hours. That way, if the machine eats your card, you'll be able to talk to bank staff about getting it back immediately. If that happens at a different ATM, you'll need to call our customer support hotline and let us know, but you might be without your card for the rest of your trip.

Even if you are certain the ATM you're using is legitimate, there is one more danger to be aware of: peepers. People – or strategically placed cameras – who hope to spy on you as you enter that magic PIN on the keypad. Keep your wits about you when using any ATM and do your best to hide your fingers so no one can figure out your PIN. Find out more about staying safe at the ATM.

7. Keep track of your belongings

Make sure you keep your personal belongings accounted for while travelling, especially when you're on the move between different cities. It's not a good idea to keep your cash, credit or debit cards, laptop, cellphone and passport all in the same place, because you might be left completely stranded in the unfortunate event of being pick-pocketed, while the perpetrator has access to even more of your private information. Keep your guard up especially in crowded areas or during times when you may be momentarily distracted, like when you're having a meal with a large group of people or shopping in a crowded market.

8. One last step

The cybersecurity checklist doesn't end right when you board your return flight back. If you used local networks or Wi-Fi while you were overseas, your cellphone and laptop could be carrying spyware you're not aware of. Once you get home, update your security and antivirus software to the newest available versions, and change your device passwords.

We hope these tips will help keep you safe both at home and abroad. Each of the tips might protect something small, but the more you can protect, the fewer ways a cyber criminal will have of patching together your identity or committing a fraud. We've got lots of other tips that can help you maximise your banking security.

Planning a trip? Check out our other safe travel tips.  Bon voyage!

1 Source: Media Outreach article

Learn more about banking security