主要内容顶部

“高息投资存款“是如何运作?

了解“高息投资存款“如何因应挂钩货币的升跌而满足您所需

简介

我们为您准备了投资示例,助您了解如何利用“高息投资存款“捕捉财富增值机会。

陈先生正准备于两星期后到澳洲旅行,并需要把港元兑换成澳元。他认为港元兑换澳元的汇率会维持平稳。

我们假设港元兑换澳元的现货价为5.2228。

假如陈先生现在立即兑换澳元,他将会用10,000港元兑换1,914.68澳元。

陈先生亦可选择开立“高息投资存款“,详情如下:
存款货币 挂钩货币 存款期 当日市场汇率(澳元兑港元) 协定汇率(澳元兑港元) 年息率
港元 澳元 14天 5.2228 5.2209 6.50% p.a.
陈先生亦可选择开立“高息投资存款“,详情如下:
存款货币 港元
挂钩货币 澳元
存款期 14天
当日市场汇率(澳元兑港元) 5.2228
协定汇率(澳元兑港元) 5.2209
年息率 6.50% p.a.

情况1:澳元兑港元上升

澳元兑港元上升至或高于协定汇率

  • 陈先生可接收利息及本金(存款货币-港元)
  • 本金:10,000港元
  • 6.50%年利息:24.93港元
  • 如以厘定日汇率兑换为挂钩货币,即可接收共1,919.38澳元

情況2:澳元兑港元轻微下跌

澳元兑港元下跌至低于协定汇率

  • 陈先生可接收利息及本金(挂钩货币-澳元)
  • 本金:1,915.37澳元
  • 6.50%年利息:4.78澳元
  • 即可接收共1,920.15澳元

情况3:澳元兑港元大幅下跌

澳元兑港元大幅下跌低于协定汇率

  • 陈先生可接收利息及本金(挂钩货币-澳元)
  • 本金:1,915.37澳元
  • 6.50%年利息:4.78澳元
  • 即可接收共1,920.15澳元
  • 但如以厘定日汇率汇率兑换为存款货币(港元),将只接收得5,012.36港元

情况4

回报或会大幅地少于投资金额

在最坏情况下,陳先生投资的回报或挂钩货币的价值或会大幅地少于他的投资金额(在极端的情况下,例如汇丰无力偿债或未能履行其责任,他投资的金额可能会变成没有价值)。

情况5

银行无力偿债或未能履行其责任

假设银行于本产品存款期内无力偿债或未能履行其于本产品下的责任,陈先生只可以其无抵押债权人身份提出申索。他可能会一无所获,并损失他的全部存款金额。

示例

上次外游剩下的多余外币

陈先生从澳洲回港后,还剩下多余的澳元。与其即时兑换回港元,陈先生决定开立高息投资存款赚取潜在回报。观看影片了解更多:

准备好开立“高息投资存款“?

通过汇丰网上理财开立

立即登录汇丰网上理财以办理。

需要帮助?

如对投资有任何查询,您可致电 (852) 2233 3733(服务时间星期一至五上午9:00至晚上6:00,及星期六上午9:00至下午1:00,公众假期除外)。

您也可能对以下内容感兴趣

 

只需港币5,000元即可把握外币市场的机遇赚取利息,增加潜在回报

 

了解“股票挂钩投资”(ELI)可能出现的不同情况如何影响您的投资 

 

了解“保本投资存款 - 货币挂钩III“(CPI III)如何为您赚取回报以及可能出现的支付情况 

 

了解“利率累计波幅”(IRRA)可能出现的不同情况如何影响您的投资 

上述的情况分析仅供举例说明用途,未能全面反映及分析在任何实际投资情况下可能出现的所有盈亏情况。汇丰并无作出表述或保证任何上述情况可代表实际的投资情况。投资的实际表现及回报可能有别于上述所示的表现情况,差异或会甚大。

免责声明

本网页所载资料并非亦不应被视为购买或认购任何投资产品或服务的建议或要约或邀请。投资涉及风险。在作出任何投资决定前,投资者应根据个人的投资经验和目标、财务实力及其他相关情况,仔细考虑本网页所介绍的产品或服务是否适合本身的情况。过往表现数据并非未来表现的指标。投资者应参阅个别产品的说明书或销售文件,了解产品详情及所涉风险。投资产品价格可升可跌。买卖投资产品均可能带来亏损,而不一定可赚取利润。

“高息投资存款”不受证券及期货事务监察委员会(“证监会”)监管。“高息投资存款”的发售文件未经证监会或任何监管机构审核。您应就买入任何“高息投资存款”审慎行事。

“高息投资存款”风险披露

  • 并非定期存款 — “高息投资存款”并不等同,亦不应被视为定期存款的代替品。本产品并不属于受保障存款及不会受香港的存款保障计划所保障。
  • 衍生工具风险 —“高息投资存款”内含外汇期权。期权交易涉及风险,特别是出售期权。虽然出售期权所收取的期权金为固定,阁下仍可能蒙受超过该期权金的损失,且阁下可能有重大损失。
  • 潜在收益有限 — 最高潜在收益为存款利息。
  • 最大潜在亏损 — “高息投资存款”并非保本产品。倘存款于到期时被转换为挂钩货币,阁下有可能因支付的货币贬值而招致损失。此等损失可能会抵销存款所赚取的利息,甚至导致本金亏损。
  • 有别于买入挂钩货币 — 投资于“高息投资存款”有别于直接买入挂钩货币。
  • 市场风险 — “高息投资存款”的净回报须视乎于厘定日厘定时间存款货币兑挂钩货币的汇率而定。汇率的变动可能出乎预料、突如其来而且幅度庞大,并受复杂的政治及经济因素影响。
  • 流通性风险 — “高息投资存款”乃为持有至到期而设。阁下无权在到期前要求提早终止本产品。在特殊情况下,本行有权利及完全酌情因应个别情况决定接受您的提早赎回申请。接获有关申请后,本行将提供参考赎回价格。提早赎回时的回报可能低于存款一直存放至到期日的回报,亦有可能出现负回报。
  • 银行的信贷风险 — “高息投资存款”并无以任何抵押品作抵押。当阁下购买本产品,阁下将承担银行的信贷风险。如银行无力偿债或未能履行其于本产品下的责任,阁下只可以银行的无抵押债权人身份提出申索。在最坏情况下,阁下可能损失阁下的全部存款金额。
  • 货币风险 — 倘存款货币及/或挂钩货币并非阁下的本土货币,而阁下于到期后选择将其兑换成阁下的本土货币,则阁下有可能因汇率波动而获得收益或招致亏损。
  • 有关人民币的风险 — 谨请阁下注意,人民币兑其他外币的价值会有波动,并将受(其中包括)中国政府的管制(例如:中国政府规管人民币与外币之间的兑换)所影响,而有关管制或会在阁下将人民币兑换为阁下的本土货币时对阁下于本产品的回报有不利影响。人民币存款的价值需承受因汇率波动而产生的风险。倘若阁下选择将人民币存款兑换为其他货币时的汇率较当初兑换人民币时的汇率为差,则可能会因而蒙受本金损失。本产品是在香港发行的以人民币计值(如人民币为存款货币)及结算(当到期时收取人民币)产品,该人民币计值与在中国内地的人民币计值存在差异。

Top of main content

How does Deposit Plus work?

See how a Deposit Plus may work for you depending on the appreciation or depreciation of the linked currency.

Introduction

Here's an illustrative example to help you understand how you could capture growth opportunities with Deposit Plus.

John is planning a trip to Australia in the next 2 weeks. He wants to exchange some money in HKD for AUD, and he believes that AUD/HKD will remain stable in the coming week.

We'll assume that the AUD/HKD spot rate is 5.2228.

If John makes an exchange now, he will exchange HKD10,000 for AUD1,914.68.

But he chooses to place a Deposit Plus with these details.
Deposit currency Linked currency Tenor Spot rate (AUD/HKD) Conversion rate (AUD/HKD) Interest rate
HKD AUD 14 days 5.2228 5.2209 6.50% p.a.
But he chooses to place a Deposit Plus with these details.
Deposit currency HKD
Linked currency AUD
Tenor 14 days
Spot rate (AUD/HKD) 5.2228
Conversion rate (AUD/HKD) 5.2209
Interest rate 6.50% p.a.

Scenario 1: AUD appreciates against HKD

AUD rises to or above the conversion rate against HKD

  • John receives the interest and principal in the deposit currency (HKD)
  • Principal: HKD10,000
  • 6.50% p.a. interest income: HKD24.93
  • If he exchanges them at the spot rate on the fixing day, he'll receive a total of AUD1,919.38

Scenario 2: AUD depreciates against HKD slightly

AUD drops below the conversion rate against HKD

  • John receives the interest and principal in the linked currency (AUD) at the conversion rate
  • Principal: AUD1,915.37
  • 6.50% p.a. interest income: AUD4.78
  • He'll receive a total of AUD1,920.15

Scenario 3: AUD depreciates against HKD considerably

AUD drops below the conversion rate considerably against HKD

  • John receives the interest and principal in the linked currency (AUD) at the conversion rate
  • Principal: AUD1,915.37
  • 6.50% p.a. interest income: AUD4.78
  • He'll receive a total of AUD1,920.15.
  • But if he converts it back to HKD at the fixing rate, it could worth HKD5,012.36.

Scenario 4

Return value less than the original amount invested

In the worst-case scenario, John will receive returns in the linked currency, the value of which may be worth substantially less than the original amount he invested (and in extreme cases—eg if HSBC becomes insolvent or defaults on its obligations—it could be worth nothing).

Scenario 5

The Bank becomes insolvent or defaults on its obligations

Assuming that the Bank becomes insolvent during the tenor of this product or defaults on its obligations under this product, John can only claim as its unsecured creditor. John may get nothing back and suffer a total loss of his deposit amount.

Illustrative example

Idle foreign currency from last trip

After John returns from Australia, he has some idle cash in AUD. Instead of converting it back to HKD immediately, he decides to capture the opportunity to increase his potential returns with Deposit Plus. Watch the video to learn more:

Ready to place a Deposit Plus?

Via HSBC Online Banking

Log on to HSBC Online Banking now to get started.

Need help?

If you have any enquiries about investments, you can call us on (852) 2233 3733. Lines are open between 9:00am and 6:00pm, Mondays to Fridays; and between 9:00am and 1:00pm on Saturdays, except on public holidays.

You may also be interested in

 

Capture currency market opportunities to generate interest and increase potential return starting from HKD5,000

 

See how an equity-linked investment (ELI) may work for you through different scenarios 

 

See how a Capital Protected Investment – Currency Linked III (CPI III) may work for you and what payouts you may receive 

 

See how Interest Rate Accrual Range (IRRA) may work for you under different scenarios 

The above scenarios are provided for illustrative purposes only, and do not reflect a complete analysis of all possible gain and loss scenarios that may arise during any actual investment. No representation or warranty is made by the Bank that any scenario described above can be duplicated under real investment conditions. Actual results may vary from the results shown above, and variations may be material.

Disclaimer

The information shown on this website is neither a recommendation, an offer, nor a solicitation for any investment product or service. Investment involves risk. You should carefully consider whether any investment product or service mentioned herein is appropriate for you in view of your personal circumstances. Past performance is no guide to future performance. Investors should refer to the individual product explanatory memorandum or offering document for further details and risks involved. The price of investment products may move up or down. Losses may be incurred as well as profits made as a result of buying and selling investment products.

Deposit Plus is not regulated by the Securities and Futures Commission (the 'SFC'). The offering documents of Deposit Plus have not been reviewed by the SFC or any regulatory authority in Hong Kong. You should exercise caution when buying any Deposit Plus.

Risk disclosure – Deposit Plus

  • Not a time deposit – Deposit Plus is NOT equivalent to, nor should it be treated as a substitute for, time deposit. It is NOT a protected deposit and is NOT protected by the Deposit Protection Scheme in Hong Kong.
  • Derivatives risk – Deposit Plus is embedded with FX option(s). Option transactions involve risks, especially when selling an option. Although the premium received from selling an option is fixed, you may sustain a loss well in excess of such premium amount, and your loss could be substantial.
  • Limited potential gain – The maximum potential gain is limited to the interest on the deposit.
  • Maximum potential loss – Deposit Plus is not principal-protected. You must be prepared to incur loss as a result of depreciation in the value of the currency paid (if the deposit is converted to the linked currency at maturity). Such loss may offset the interest earned on the deposit and may even result in losses in the principal amount of the deposit.
  • Not the same as buying the linked currency – Investing in Deposit Plus is not the same as buying the linked currency directly.
  • Market risk – The net return of Deposit Plus will depend upon the exchange rate of the deposit currency against the linked currency prevailing at the deposit fixing time on the deposit fixing date. Movements in exchange rates can be unpredictable, sudden and drastic, and affected by complex political and economic factors.
  • Liquidity risk – Deposit Plus is designed to be held until maturity. You do not have a right to request early termination of this product before maturity. Under special circumstances, HSBC has the right to accept your early redemption request at its sole discretion and on a case by case basis. HSBC will provide an indication of the redemption price upon such request. Your return upon such early redemption will likely be lower than that if the deposit were held until maturity and may be negative.
  • Credit risk of HSBC – Deposit Plus is not secured by any collateral. When you invest in this product, you will be relying on HSBC's creditworthiness. If HSBC becomes insolvent or defaults on its obligations under this product, you can only claim as an unsecured creditor of HSBC. In the worst case, you could suffer a total loss of your deposit amount.
  • Currency risk – If the deposit currency and/or linked currency is not your home currency, and you choose to convert it back to your home currency upon maturity, you may make a gain or loss due to exchange rate fluctuations.
  • Risks relating to RMB – You should note that the value of RMB against other foreign currencies fluctuates and will be affected by, amongst other things, the PRC government's control (eg the PRC government regulates conversion between RMB and foreign currencies), which may adversely affect your return under this product. The value of your investment will be subject to the risk of exchange rate fluctuation. In case you receive RMB as the linked currency at maturity and you choose to convert your maturity proceeds to other currencies, you may suffer loss in principal. This product will be denominated (if the deposit currency is in RMB) and settled (received in RMB at maturity) in RMB deliverable in Hong Kong, which is different from that of RMB deliverable in mainland China.