主內容首部

「股票掛鈎投資」(ELI)是如何運作?

了解「股票掛鈎投資」(ELI)可能出現的不同情況如何影響您的投資

簡介

投資股票掛鈎投資時可能會遇到的情況

投資股票掛鈎投資時可能會遇到的情況

股票掛鈎投資(ELI)屬於結構性產品,其投資回報與單一或一籃子最多4隻股票的表現直接相關。

股票掛鈎投資一般為中短期投資產品,有機會為您提供更高潛在回報。投資到期時,您除了可獲得潛在利息之外,亦可收回投資的100%本金,或者以低於初始現貨價,收取表現最差的股票。

但在最壞的情況下,股價可能會跌至0,代表您收到的股票可能會毫無價值。

股票掛鈎投資看似很複雜,但以下例子可以幫您了解投資股票掛鈎投資時可能遇到的情況,以及對您的投資有甚麼影響。

情況1

情況1:符合自動贖回條件的資產表現

符合自動贖回條件

於贖回日,如表現最差的參考資產的收市價等於或高於贖回價,股票掛鈎投資將會被提早終止。您將收取:

  • 全數投資金額
  • 截至贖回日的潛在現金紅利金額

情況2

情況2:收市價等於或高於行使價的資產表現

收市價等於或高於行使價

於屆滿日期,如收市價等於或高於行使價,您將收取:

  • 全數投資金額
  • 潛在現金紅利金額

情况3

情況3:收市價低於行使價,並且觸發生效事件(氣墊機制)的資產表現

收市價低於行使價,並且觸發生效事件(氣墊機制)

於屆滿日期,如收市價低於行使價,並且觸發生效事件(即「氣墊機制」),您將收取實物結算或現金結算。

(a) 實物結算

  • 交付表現最差參考資產(零碎股份將以現金交付)
  • 潛在現金紅利金額

(b) 現金結算

  • 實物結算額現金等值
  • 潛在現金紅利金額

情況4

情況4:收市價低於行使價,並且觸發生效事件(氣墊機制)的資產表現

收市價低於行使價,並且觸發生效事件(氣墊機制)

於屆滿日期,如收市價低於行使價,並且觸發生效事件(即「氣墊機制」),您將收取實物結算或現金結算。

(a) 實物結算

  • 交付表現最差參考資產(零碎股份將以現金交付)
  • 潛在現金紅利金額

(b) 現金結算

  • 實物結算額現金等值
  • 潛在現金紅利金額

最壞情況

收市價跌至0

在最壞情況下,實物結算額或實物結算額的現金等值可能毫無價值,即是當收市價跌至0時,您可能會損失最初投資款項的100%。

準備好探索股票掛鈎投資(ELI)?

持有滙豐投資戶口

登入滙豐網上理財,查看完整產品清單。

還未持有滙豐投資戶口?

您可以利用「香港滙豐流動理財」應用程式開立投資戶口,過程只需幾分鐘。

您也可能對以下內容感興趣

 

助您把握市場變動機遇,於股價窄幅徘徊時賺取較高潛在回報

 

了解「高息投資存款」如何因應掛鈎貨幣的升跌而滿足您所需 

 

了解「保本投資存款 - 貨幣掛鈎III」(CPI III)如何為您賺取回報以及可能出現的支付情況 

 

了解「利率累計波幅」(IRRA)可能出現的不同情況如何影響您的投資 

上述的情況分析僅供舉例說明用途,未能全面反映及分析在任何實際投資情況下可能出現的所有盈虧情況。滙豐並無作出表述或保證任何上述情況可代表實際的投資情況。投資的實際表現及回報可能有別於上述所示的表現情況,差異或會甚大。

免責聲明

  • 本網頁所載資料並非亦不應被視為購買或認購任何投資產品或服務的建議或要約或邀請。投資涉及風險。在作出任何投資決定前,投資者應根據個人的投資經驗和目標、財務實力及其他相關情況,仔細考慮本網頁所介紹的產品或服務是否適合本身的情況。過往表現數據並非未來表現的指標。投資者應參閱個別產品的說明書或銷售文件,了解產品詳情及所涉風險。投資產品價格可升可跌。買賣投資產品均可能帶來虧損,而不一定可賺取利潤。
  • 證券及期貨事務監察委員會(「證監會」)已認可股票掛鈎投資及股票掛鈎投資的銷售文件。證監會的認可並不意味官方推薦或認可股票掛鈎投資,亦不等於對股票掛鈎投資的商業優點或其表現作出保證。


可持續投資的重要資訊

「可持續投資」包括在不同程度上考慮環境、社會、管治和/或其他可持續發展因素(統稱「可持續發展」)的投資策略或工具。我們包括在此類別的個別投資可能正在改變,以實現可持續發展成果。

並不保證可持續投資所產生的回報與不考慮這些因素的投資回報相近。可持續投資或會偏離傳統市場基準。

此外,可持續投資或可持續投資帶來的影響(「可持續發展影響」)並沒有標準定義或量度準則。可持續投資和可持續發展影響的量度準則是 (a) 高度主觀,而且 (b) 在不同板塊之間和同一板塊之內可能存在重大差異。

滙豐可能依賴由第三方供應商或發行機構設計和/或報告的量度準則。滙豐不會經常就量度準則自行作出具體的盡職審查。並不保證:(a) 可持續發展影響或量度準則的性質將與任何個別投資者的可持續發展目標保持一致;(b) 可持續發展影響訂出的水平或目標可以實現。

可持續投資是一個發展中的領域,可能頒布新的監管規例,這或會影響投資的分類或標籤方式。今天被視為符合可持續發展準則的投資未必符合未來的準則。

 

股票掛鈎投資風險披露

  • 以下風險應連同股票掛鈎投資的有關發售文件的「風險警告」一節所載有的其他風險一併閱讀。
    1. 閣下應注意,本網頁所載的資料並不構成本公司的股票掛鈎投資的發售文件的一部分。閣下於決定是否投資本公司的股票掛鈎投資前,務請細閱本公司的股票掛鈎投資的全部發售文件(包括計劃備忘錄,財務披露文件,有關產品手冊及指示性條款表及任何該等文件的任何附錄)。閣下如對本網頁所載資料的內容有任何疑問,應徵詢獨立專業意見。
    2. 並非定期存款—股票掛鈎投資並不等同,亦不應被視為定期存款的代替品。本產品並不屬於受保障存款及不會受香港的存款保障計劃所保障。
    3. 並不保本—本公司的股票掛鈎投資並不保本:閣下可能損失閣下的全部投資。
    4. 潛在收益有限—閣下未必獲派付任何潛在現金紅利金額:本產品的最高潛在收益以相等於股票掛鈎投資的發行價與面值的差額(如有)(減任何現金結算費用)和於股票掛鈎投資的原定期(即發行日期(包括該日)至結算日期(包括該日)止期間)内應付的最高定期潛在現金紅利金額的總和的款項為上限。閣下有可能在股票掛鈎投資的整個原定期内不獲派付任何潛在現金紅利金額。
    5. 再投資風險—倘本公司的股票掛鈎投資提早終止,本公司將向 閣下支付股票掛鈎投資的面值(減任何現金結算費用)及計至該贖回日期(包括該日)止的任何累計潛在現金紅利金額。於該提早終止後將毋須再支付任何潛在現金紅利金額。屆時市況或已有所變更,因此倘 閣下將所得款項轉而投資於其他風險參數相若的投資上, 閣下未必能獲得相同的回報率。
    6. 並無抵押品—本公司的股票掛鈎投資並無以本公司的任何資產或任何抵押品作為抵押。
    7. 提供有限度的莊家活動安排,假如 閣下於屆滿前出售 閣下的股票掛鈎投資,閣下可能蒙受虧損:本公司的股票掛鈎投資乃為持有至結算日期而設計。本公司的所有股票掛鈎投資會於每兩個星期提供有限度的莊家活動安排。假如 閣下嘗試於屆滿前出售 閣下的股票掛鈎投資, 閣下就每份股票掛鈎投資所收取的款項可能遠低於 閣下就每份股票掛鈎投資所支付的發行價。
    8. 並非投資參考資產—投資本公司的股票掛鈎投資與投資參考資產是不一樣的。股票掛鈎投資的潛在回報將視乎參考資產於相關估值日期的表現而定。參考資產的市價變動並不會導致股票掛鈎投資的市值或閣下從股票掛鈎投資的潛在分派出現相應變動。
    9. 不受投資者賠償基金保障—本公司的股票掛鈎投資並無於任何證券交易所上市,本公司的股票掛鈎投資不受投資者賠償基金保障,可能並無活躍或高流通量的二手市場。
    10. 有關匯豐違約或無力償債的最大潛在虧損—本公司的股票掛鈎投資構成匯豐(作為發行人)而非其他人士(包括本集團的最終控股公司,匯豐控股有限公司)的一般無抵押及非後償合約責任。閣下凡購買本公司的股票掛鈎投資,閣下所倚賴的是匯豐的信用可靠性。倘若匯豐無償債能力或違反其於股票掛鈎投資項下的責任,在最差情況下,閣下可能損失閣下的全部投資。
    11. 有關人民幣的風險 — 謹請閣下注意,人民幣兌其他外幣的價值會有波動,並將受(其中包括)中國政府的管制(例如,中國政府規管人民幣與外幣之間的兌換)所影響,而有關管制或會在閣下將人民幣兌換為閣下的本土貨幣時對閣下於本產品的回報有不利影響。人民幣計値的股票掛鈎投資的價值需承受因匯率波動而產生的風險。倘若閣下選擇將人民幣計値的股票掛鈎投資兌換為其他貨幣時的匯率較當初兌換人民幣時的匯率為差,則可能會因而蒙受本金損失。本產品是在香港發行的以人民幣計值(如人民幣為存款貨幣)及結算(當到期時收取人民幣)產品,該人民幣計值與在中國內地的人民幣計值存在差異。
    12. 閣下可能於結算時以實物交付方式收取參考資產。
    13. 本公司可根據本公司的股票掛鈎投資的發售文件載列的條款提早終止本公司的股票掛鈎投資。
    14. 本公司的股票掛鈎投資為包含衍生工具的結構性投資產品。
    15. 投資回報(如有)並非以本地貨幣計算者,需承受匯率波動的風險。匯率波動亦可能令投資價值有升有跌。
  • 香港上海滙豐銀行有限公司為本公司的股票掛鈎投資的發行人及產品安排人。
  • 本網頁內所載內容及資料未經香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會或任何監管機構審核。
  • 投資涉及風險。結構性投資產品價格可升可跌,買賣結構性投資產品可導致虧損或盈利。
  • 您應就本身的投資經驗、投資目標、財政資源及其他相關條件,小心衡量自己是否適合參與任何投資項目。
  • 向您提供的有關產品或服務的任何廣告、市場推廣或宣傳物料、市場資料或其他資料,其本身不會構成任何產品或服務的招攬銷售或建議。如您欲獲得我們的招攬或建議,應聯絡我們,並在交易前接受我們的合適性評估(如相關)。

Top of main content

How does an Equity-linked investment (ELI) work?

See how an equity-linked investment (ELI) may work for you through different scenarios

Introduction

Scenarios you may encounter when investing in ELIs

Scenarios you may encounter when investing in ELIs

An equity-linked investment (ELI) is a type of structured product. Its investment return is directly linked to the performance of a single underlying equity or a basket of up to 4 underlying equities.

An ELI is typically a short to medium-term investment product that may provide potential yield enhancement. On top of this potential interest, investors could either receive 100% of their initial principal investment or stock delivery of the worst-performing stock at a discounted price lower than the initial spot price upon maturity.

But in the worst-case scenario, the stock price can drop to 0 which means that the stock investors receive can be worth nothing.

ELIs can seem complex but these examples will help you understand what scenarios you may run into when you invest in an ELI and what it will mean for your investment.

Scenario 1

Scenario 1: Autocall condition is satisfied

Autocall condition is satisfied

If the worst-performing reference asset price is at or above the call price on the call date, then the ELI will be terminated early. You will receive:

  • a full redemption of the invested amount
  • the potential cash dividend amount up to the call date

Scenario 2

Scenario 2: Closing price is equal to or above the exercise price

Closing price is equal to or above the exercise price

If the closing price is equal to or above the exercise price on expiry date, you will receive:

  • a full redemption of the invested amount
  • the potential cash dividend amount

Scenario 3

Scenario 3 : Closing price is lower than the exercise price with knock-in (airbag) triggered

Closing price is lower than the exercise price with knock-in (airbag) triggered

If the closing price is lower than the exercise price on the expiry date and the knock-in is triggered, you will receive either a physical or cash settlement.

(a) Physical settlement

  • Delivery of the worst-performing reference asset (fractional share may result in delivery of cash in addition to the share)
  • Potential cash dividend amount

or

(b) Cash settlement

  • Cash equivalent of the physical settlement amount
  • Potential cash dividend amount

Scenario 4

Scenario 4 : Closing price is lower than the exercise price with knock-in (airbag) triggered

Closing price is lower than the exercise price with knock-in (airbag) triggered

If the closing price is lower than the exercise price on the expiry date and the knock-in is triggered, you will receive either a physical or cash settlement.

(a) Physical settlement

  • Delivery of the worst-performing reference asset (fractional share may result in delivery of cash in addition to the share)
  • Potential cash dividend amount

or

(b) Cash settlement

  • Cash equivalent of the physical settlement amount
  • Potential cash dividend amount

Worst-case scenario

Closing price of a settlement stock drops to zero

In the worst-case scenario, the physical settlement amount or the cash equivalent of the physical settlement amount could be worth nothing (ie if the closing price of a settlement stock drops to zero you could lose 100% of your initial investment amount).

Ready to explore ELIs?

HSBC investment account holders

Log on to HSBC Online Banking to see the full product list.

Don't have an HSBC investment account?

You can open an investment account on the HSBC HK Mobile Banking app and start trading with us in minutes.

You may also be interested in

 

Tap into the potential of equity market movements and earn higher potential income even when the market is range-bound

 

See how a Deposit Plus may work for you depending on the appreciation or depreciation of the linked currency. 

 

See how a Capital Protected Investment – Currency Linked III (CPI III) may work for you and what payouts you may receive 

 

See how Interest Rate Accrual Range (IRRA) may work for you under different scenarios 

The above scenarios are provided for illustrative purposes only, and do not reflect a complete analysis of all possible gain and loss scenarios that may arise during any actual investment. No representation or warranty is made by the Bank that any scenario described above can be duplicated under real investment conditions. Actual results may vary from the results shown above, and variations may be material.

Disclaimer

  • The information shown in this website is neither a recommendation, an offer, nor a solicitation for any investment product or service. Investment involves risk. You should carefully consider whether any investment product or service mentioned herein is appropriate for you in view of your personal circumstances. Past performance is no guide to future performance. Investors should refer to the individual product explanatory memorandum or offering document for further details and risks involved. The price of investment products may move up or down. Losses may be incurred as well as profits made as a result of buying and selling investment products.
  • The Securities and Futures Commission (the 'SFC') has authorized the Equity Linked Investments and offering documents of Equity Linked Investments. The SFC's authorization does not imply official recommendation or endorsement of Equity Linked Investments, nor does it guarantee the commercial merits of Equity Linked Investments or its performance.

 

Important Information about sustainable investing

"Sustainable investments" include investment approaches or instruments which consider environmental, social, governance and/or other sustainability factors (collectively, "sustainability") to varying degrees. Certain instruments we include within this category may be in the process of changing to deliver sustainability outcomes.

There is no guarantee that sustainable investments will produce returns similar to those which don't consider these factors. Sustainable investments may diverge from traditional market benchmarks.

In addition, there is no standard definition of, or measurement criteria for sustainable investments, or the impact of sustainable investments ("sustainability impact"). Sustainable investment and sustainability impact measurement criteria are (a) highly subjective and (b) may vary significantly across and within sectors.

HSBC may rely on measurement criteria devised and/or reported by third party providers or issuers. HSBC does not always conduct its own specific due diligence in relation to measurement criteria. There is no guarantee: (a) that the nature of the sustainability impact or measurement criteria of an investment will be aligned with any particular investor's sustainability goals; or (b) that the stated level or target level of sustainability impact will be achieved.

Sustainable investing is an evolving area and new regulations may come into effect which may affect how an investment is categorised or labelled. An investment which is considered to fulfil sustainable criteria today may not meet those criteria at some point in the future.


Risk disclosure – Equity-linked Investments (ELIs)

The following risks should be read together with the other risks contained in the 'risk warnings' section in the relevant offering documents of the ELIs.

  • You should note that the information contained in this material does NOT form part of the offering documents of our ELIs.
    1. You should read all the offering documents of our ELIs (including the programme memorandum, the financial disclosure document, the relevant product booklet and the indicative term sheet and any addendum to any of such documents) before deciding whether to invest in our ELIs. If you have any doubts about the content of this material, you should seek independent professional advice.
    2. Not a time deposit – ELI is NOT equivalent to, nor should it be treated as a substitute for, time deposit. It is NOT a protected deposit and is NOT protected by the Deposit Protection Scheme in Hong Kong.
    3. Not principal-protected – ELIs are not principal-protected: you could lose all of your investment.
    4. Limited potential gain – You may not receive any potential cash dividend amount. The maximum potential gain under this product is capped at an amount equal to the sum of the difference between the issue price and the nominal amount of the ELIs (if any, and less any cash settlement expenses) and the maximum periodic potential cash dividend amount(s) payable during the scheduled tenor (ie the period from and including the issue date, to and including the settlement date) of the ELIs. It is possible that you may not receive any potential cash dividend amount for the entire scheduled tenor of the ELIs.
    5. Re-investment risk – If our ELIs are terminated early, we will pay you the nominal amount of the ELIs (less any cash settlement expenses), and any accrued potential cash dividend amount calculated up to and including that call date. No further potential cash dividend amount will be payable following such early termination. Market conditions may have changed and you may not be able to enjoy the same rate of return if you re-invest these proceeds in other investments with similar risk parameters.
    6. No collateral – ELIs are not secured on any of our assets or any collateral.
    7. Limited market-making arrangements are available and you may suffer a loss if you sell your ELIs before expiry. Our ELIs are designed to be held to their settlement date. Limited market making arrangements are available on a bi-weekly basis for all our ELIs. If you try to sell your ELIs before expiry, the amount you receive for each ELI may be substantially less than the issue price you paid for each ELI.
    8. Not the same as investing in the reference asset – Investing in our ELIs is not the same as investing in the reference asset. Changes in the market price of the reference asset may not lead to a corresponding change in the market value of, or your potential payout under, the ELIs.
    9. Not covered by the Investor Compensation Fund – Our ELIs are not listed on any stock exchange and are not covered by the Investor Compensation Fund. There may not be any active or liquid secondary market.
    10. Maximum loss upon HSBC's default or insolvency – Our ELIs constitute general, unsecured and unsubordinated contractual obligations of HSBC as issuer and of no other person (including the ultimate holding company of our group, HSBC Holdings plc). When you buy our ELIs, you will be relying on HSBC's creditworthiness. If HSBC becomes insolvent or defaults on its obligations under the ELIs, in the worst case scenario, you could lose all of your investment.
    11. Risks relating to RMB – You should note that the value of RMB against other foreign currencies fluctuates and will be affected by, amongst other things, the PRC government's control (eg the PRC government regulates conversion between RMB and foreign currencies), which may adversely affect your return under this product when you convert RMB into your home currency. The value of your RMB-denominated ELIs will be subject to the risk of exchange rate fluctuation. If you choose to convert your RMB deposit to other currencies at an exchange rate that is less favourable than that in which you made your original conversion to RMB, you may suffer loss in principal. This product (if denominated in RMB) will be denominated and settled in RMB deliverable in Hong Kong, which is different from that of RMB deliverable in mainland China.
    12. You may, at settlement, receive physical delivery of reference asset(s).
    13. Our ELIs may be terminated early by us according to the terms as set out in offering documents of our ELIs.
    14. Our ELIs are structured investment products which are embedded with derivatives.
    15. Investment returns (if any) not denominated in home currency are exposed to exchange rate fluctuations. Rates of exchange may cause the value of investments to go up or down.
  • The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited is the issuer and product arranger of our ELIs.
  • The information contained in this website have not been reviewed by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong or any regulatory authority in Hong Kong.
  • Investment involves risk. The price of structured products may move up or down. Losses may be incurred as well as profits made as a result of buying and selling structured products.
  • You should carefully consider whether any investment products or services mentioned herein are appropriate for you in view of your investment experience, objectives, financial resources and circumstances.
  • Making available to you any advertisements, marketing or promotional materials, market information or other information relating to a product or service shall not, by itself, constitute solicitation of the sale or recommendation of any product or service. If you wish to receive solicitation or recommendation