在这困难时刻,我们会尽力协助您处理汇丰的账户,但我们仍有一些行政手续需要办理。为方便您处理不同的产品和服务,我们在以下总结了有关资料供您参考。

 

我们建议遗产代理人携同以下文件亲临任何一间汇丰分行以处理已故客户拥有的资产并取消其持有的账户:

  • 香港特别行政区高等法院发出的授予承办书/香港特别行政区民政事务总署署长发出的确认通知书正本
  • 遗产代理人的身分证明文件正本
  • 已故客户的身分证明文件正本

 

我们将会协助您于分行填写发放已故客户账户结存申请表以提取或转出已故客户的资产。

存款账户

当我们收到有关的证明文件并已处理该已故客户于汇丰的欠款后,我们通常将会在15个工作天内发放已故客户于汇丰持有的银行账户或存款产品的结余。已故客户于去世当日起的账户透支将不会被收取利息。

 

对于已故客户与他人共同开设的联名账户,我们将会从这些账户中删除已故客户的姓名,使其成为由尚存者持有的账户1,账户号码将维持不变。对于往来账户,我们可以按您的要求发出已更新账户持有人名称的支票簿。之前以联名账户所设立的常行指示及自动转账将继续如常进行,如需停止任何常行指示或自动转账服务,请您随时通知我们。

 

如果有一位以上尚存者的账户持有人,则需要所有尚存者的账户持有人亲临任何一间汇丰分行签署新的授权书。

信用卡

当我们收到客户已故的通知,我们需要取消已故客户持有的信用卡,这包括连系至已故客户名下的所有附属卡。信用卡上的任何未清还的结欠必须从遗产中支付;如有任何结存,则会退还至已故客户的遗产。在信用卡被取消后,之前以信用卡所设立的任何常行指示/自动转账(例如用于支付公共事业服务账单,保险费)将不再被处理。因此,您需要直接联系有关商户、机构或服务供应商以作出其他安排。

个人贷款/透支

我们将从收到客户已故的通知之日起冻结贷款/透支账户,并且于去世当日起停止收取贷款利息或费用。贷款/透支金额需要从遗产中偿还。对于联名贷款,尚存者账户持有人可以继续如常还款或全额偿还贷款。

按揭

当我们收到客户已故的通知,我们便会更新银行纪录。按揭贷款不会被冻结,因此尚未结清的款项将继续产生利息。但是,用于偿还按揭的账户(如以已故客户个人名义持有)将被冻结,并且不能再从该银行账户偿还贷款。因此,为了继续如期偿还按揭贷款以避免其进入违约状态,请联系我们,了解适合您的方案。

 

其中一个方案是,尽管已故客户账户已被冻结,愿意继续供款的第三者可联系我们安排签署一封承诺书并暂时继续按揭还款。该承诺书书面确认该第三者不能籍由偿还按揭而获得该物业的任何权利。这短期解决方案通常仅限12个月,其目的是避免按揭贷款在申请获得授予承办书的过渡期间违约。在正式签发授予承办书后,遗产代理人应有权从已故客户的资产中偿还抵押贷款,而上述的临时安排将会停止。

 

我们建议您尽早向土地注册处提供死亡证明书并办理相关登记。对物业的安排,您可以考虑自行寻求法律意见。如果已故客户是抵押物业的唯一拥有人,我们通常会预期该物业的所有权将会转让给已故客户遗产的受益人。如受益人欲承接有关按揭,请于转让前联系我们,正常情况下,受益人需向银行申请新的按揭,我们将根据受益人的情况决定是否批核贷款。假如该物业属于居者有其屋或其他政府资助房屋计划,你需要向有关当局查询转让的程序。

 

如果已故客户与其他人共同拥有抵押物业,处理程序将有所不同。一般来说,这将取决于他们是"联权共有人"或"分权共有人"。对于联权共有人,尚存拥有人将能够接管物业所有权。对于分权共有人,由于每个拥有人拥有该物业的部分份额,只有属于已故客户的份额会由其受益人继承。请咨询律师并在业权转让前联系我们相讨该物业按揭贷款之安排。

 

在任何情况下,如果抵押物业属共同拥有,在授予承办书发出前,尚存拥有人需要继续全额供款(不应只供尚存拥有人各自之份额),也不应等待授予承办书发出后才供款。

 

上述乃过程的简要说明,每个案例都必须根据个别情况加以考虑。请联系我们讨论细节,我们将根据具体情况提供相关资讯。请注意,以上内容并非详尽无遗,亦非旨在提供法律意见。

投资组合

已故客户于汇丰持有的投资账户亦被视为遗产的一部分,如股票、债券或信托基金投资组合。当我们收到客户已故的通知后,该账户将不能作出任何买卖。预期的遗产代理人应向我们申请已故客户投资产品结余的完整账单(与存款账户的处理方法类似),并把投资账户及结余的详细资料列明在授予承办书该清单中。

 

当遗产代理人收到授予承办书后,可以指示我们出售已故客户于汇丰香港持有的投资产品组合,然后将销售收益发放,或将这些投资产品组合转出到遗产代理人于汇丰香港或其他金融机构的投资账户。

保管箱

如果已故客户有租用我们的保管箱(包括联名租用的保管箱),预期的遗产代理人在与我们预约检视保管箱之前,应向民政事务总署申请"需要检视银行保管箱证明书"。检视2应在民政事务总署授权的公职人员、汇丰职员及检视证明书的持有人在场的情况下进行。检视证明书的持有人需要准备保管箱物品清单,该清单将作为在申请授予承办书时已故客户所持资产的证明文件。对于联名租用的保管箱,尚存的联名承租人如非预期的遗产代理人,也需要在场检视保管箱。保管箱与联名存款账户不同,保管箱的物品不会自动转移给尚存的联名承租人。

 

遗产代理人只要在授予承办书中资产及负债清单列明保管箱的详细资料,包括其所在的分行,我们分配的保管箱号码及保管箱内的物品明细,遗产代理人便可以取回保管箱内的物品。

 

如果尚存的联名承租人希望继续租用保管箱,我们可以按您的要求将保管箱转到尚存者名下。  

 

有关办理检视保管箱由民政事务总署遗产受益人支援组负责,他们的信息请参考有用的联系信息。 

 

2 如果在检视期间,在保管箱内发现遗嘱,而其指定遗嘱执行人并非检视证明书的持有人,有关检视将立即停止。

这是概览页面共5个步骤中的第5个步骤。

丧亲指引 - 您可以保存电子版本打印版本指引以供参考。

We try to keep this as simple as possible but there are some processes that we must follow. Therefore, to help you understand what to expect, we have summarised what would probably happen for different types of product or service held with us.

 

To move money out of the deceased’s accounts and subsequently close them, the Personal Representative is suggested to visit one of our branches with the following documents:

  • Original Grant of Representation issued by the High Court/Original Confirmation Notice issued by Director of Home Affairs
  • Original identification document of the Personal Representative
  • Original identification document of the deceased

 

We would then assist you to complete a request form for the release of money from deceased’s account for you during your branch visit.

Deposit Accounts

Once we have seen the necessary identification and paperwork, we can release funds held in HSBC banking accounts or savings products normally within 15 business days, subject to our right to set-off any amount owed to us by the deceased. Interest will not be charged on accounts that are overdrawn from the date of death. 

 

For joint accounts, once we have formal confirmation of the death of a joint account holder, we would remove the deceased from those accounts so that they would now be held under the name of the surviving account holder(s)1. Please note that account number(s) will remain unchanged. For current accounts, a cheque book with the updated account holder’s name(s) can be issued at your request. Standing Instructions and Autopay that have been set up on the joint accounts will continue as normal. Therefore, please also let us know if any of the instructions need to be stopped.

 

If there is more than one surviving joint account holder, a new mandate signed by all surviving joint account holders is required.

Credit Cards

We need to cancel all credit cards of the deceased as soon as we are notified of the death. This includes any additional cards that are linked to the deceased’s credit card account. Any outstanding balance on the credit cards must be paid from the estate. If there is any credit balance, it will be returned to the deceased’s estate. Please remember that any Standing Instructions/Autopay set up under the card accounts (eg for payment of utility bills, insurance premiums) will no longer be processed after the cards are cancelled. Therefore, you will also need to make alternative arrangements by directly contacting the relevant merchants, organisations or service providers.

Personal Loans/Overdrafts

We will freeze the loan/overdraft from the date we are notified of the death and there will not be any further debit of interest or charges. The loan/overdrawn amount will then need to be repaid from the estate. However, for joint loans, the surviving account holder can continue to make the usual repayments or repay the loan in full.

Mortgages

Once we are notified of the death, we will update our records to take note of the deceased status. The mortgage loan will not be frozen and the outstanding balance will continue to accrue interest. However, the account used for repayment of the mortgage loan (if in the sole name of the deceased) will be frozen and no further repayments can be made out of that bank account. Therefore, in order to continue to make regular repayments to the mortgage loan and prevent it from going into default status, you should contact us to discuss your available options.   

 

One of the available options is that while the deceased’s bank accounts remain frozen, any person who wishes to make the mortgage repayments on a temporary basis can contact us and we may allow him/her to make such repayments if he/she signs an undertaking that he/she does not acquire any interest in the mortgaged property despite making the repayments. This is a short term solution, typically up to 12 months only, to avoid the mortgage from going into default status during the interim period while the Grant of Representation is being applied for. After the issuance of the Grant of Representation, the Personal Representative should have the authority to make the mortgage repayments out of the deceased’s assets and the temporary arrangement as described above would cease.  

 

Please arrange for the Death Certificate to be registered with the Land Registry. You should also seek legal advice on how the property should be handled. If the deceased was the sole owner of the property, we would normally expect a transfer of ownership of the property to the beneficiary of the deceased’s estate. If the beneficiary wishes to take over the mortgage, please contact us before the transfer. Usually we will require the beneficiary to apply to us for a new mortgage before the transfer and we will decide whether to grant the loan based on the circumstances of the beneficiary. If the property is under the Government Housing Scheme or other subsidized housing schemes, you should check with the relevant authority on the procedure for transfer of ownership.  

 

If the deceased co-owned the property with other persons, then the procedure will be different, depending on whether they were joint tenants or tenants-in-common and you should seek legal advice. For joint tenants, the surviving owner(s) will be able to take over the ownership. For tenants-in-common, each owner has a designated share of the property and only the deceased’s share will be inherited by his or her beneficiary. Please contact us before any transfer of ownership and we will discuss with you whether or not the new owners are required to make a new mortgage application.  

 

In any case, if the property is jointly owned, the surviving owners should ensure that they continue to pay the mortgage repayment instalments in full (and not just their own share). They should not wait until the Grant of Representation is obtained.

 

This is only a brief illustration of the processes and each case will have to be considered on its own facts.  Please approach us to discuss the details and we will be able to provide specific information based on individual circumstances. The information provided, however, is not intended to be comprehensive nor does it constitute legal advice.

Investment

Investments held under the name of the deceased with HSBC such as shares, bonds or unit trusts, are considered part of the estate. Trading will not be allowed after notification of death. The intended Personal Representative should apply to us for a full statement of the deceased’s investment holdings, similar to deposit accounts, and include details of the investment account(s) and the relevant holdings in the Schedule to the Grant of Representation. 

 

Once the Grant of Representation is obtained, the Personal Representative can then instruct the Bank how to deal with the investments maintained in the deceased’s accounts. The Personal Representative may instruct us to sell the investment holdings and then release the sale proceeds to them or to transfer those holdings to Personal Representative’s investment account with HSBC or another financial organisation.

Safe Deposit Locker

If the deceased had a Safe Deposit Locker (including joint Safe Deposit Locker) with us, the intended Personal Representative will need to approach the Home Affairs Department to obtain a ‘Certificate for Necessity of Inspection of Bank Deposit Box’ before making an appointment with us to inspect the Safe Deposit Locker. The inspection2 will take place in the presence of public officers authorised by the Home Affairs Department, an HSBC officer and the holder of the Certificate. The holder of the Certificate will have to prepare an inventory of the contents of the Safe Deposit Locker. This inventory will be included as a supporting document evidencing the assets held by the deceased when applying for the Grant of Representation. For jointly rented Safe Deposit Lockers, the surviving joint lessee(s), if different from the intended Personal Representative, should also be present during the inspection. Unlike joint deposit accounts, the contents of the Safe Deposit Locker do not automatically pass to the surviving joint lessee(s).  

 

Provided that the Schedule to the Grant of Representation contains the necessary details about the Safe Deposit Locker, including the branch at which it is located, its number as assigned by us and its contents, the Personal Representative will be allowed to retrieve the contents of the locker. 

 

If the surviving joint lessee(s) would like to retain the Safe Deposit Locker, we can keep the locker held under the name of the surviving lessee(s) after removing the name of the deceased.   

 

The Estate Beneficiaries Support Unit of the Home Affairs Department is responsible for this area and their contact details can be found in useful contact.    

 

2 During the inspection, if a Will is found in the Safe Deposit Locker and the person it appoints as executor is different from the person holding the Certificate, the inspection will cease immediately.

This is step 5 of 5 outlined on the overview page.

Bereavement Guide - you may save an electronic copy of the Bereavement Guide. Alternatively, you may print out the Bereavement Guide.