主內容首部

網上投資指南

27/07/2020
投資於知識之中,回報最豐盛。 - 班哲文‧富蘭克林

為何學習投資如此重要?

  • 雖然新型冠狀病毒疫情令投資市場大幅波動,但有些投資者仍有出色表現
  • 要投資組合表現突出,靠的並非運氣,而是充分的投資知識、合適的投資工具以及適當的投資策略
  • 讓滙豐告訴您成功投資的秘訣,助你達致理財目標

 

成功投資五部曲

第一部曲

保守、平衡、進取 您是哪一種?

在投資理財的道路上,踏出正確的第一步相當重要。五部曲之首,便是衡量個人的風險承受能力,挑選適合自身需要的資產配置。

投資路上,各人取態都不同,有些投資者不太願意承受風險及投資損失,即使有機會取得較高的潛在回報也不為所動;有些投資者願意承擔一定程度的風險,以取得一定的投資回報,但希望避免大幅波動;也有些投資者願意承擔較高風險,以換取高於市場平均水平的回報。

如何得知自己的風險承受能力?可先以投資年期來判斷。簡單而言,投資年期越長,可以承受的風險便越高。原因是投資期越長的話,便越能夠渡過完整的市場週期,避免受短期波動所牽引。舉個例,初出來投身社會的年輕人,由於離退休年紀尚遠,可以承受的風險會較高。

相反,投資年期越短,可承受的風險普遍越低。假設您於明年便踏入退休的階段,從此不再有恆常性收入,若投資突然大跌,已沒有足夠的時間收復失地,因此風險承受能力便較低。

另外,投資風險承受能力也關乎到不同的人生大計,投資前不妨先問問自己,是否要為子女的教育經費做好準備?短期內有沒有置業計劃?這些因素都會影響到我們的流動資金需要。畢竟在任何情況之下,我們都需要保留一定的現金,以備不時之需。

第二部曲

平衡風險與回報 開啟長線投資之匙

倘若世上有一種投資工具,表現長期名列前茅,投資者只要長期持有便能夠安寢無憂,豈不完美?但事實是經濟週期有盛有衰,市場情況變化莫測,即使是投資專家,亦難以準確預測各種資產類別的表現。

參考歷史數據,在不同投資週期中,不同資產的表現可以有天淵之別,就如在2017年表現最優異的資產,到2018年幾乎敬陪末席,證明了沒有一種單一資產能成為長勝將軍。

因此,投資者應要避免將所有雞蛋放進同一個籃子裡,適當地將資產配置在不同地域、不同屬性的投資工具,有助分散投資組合風險,並於不同市況中捕捉投資機遇,爭取穩定的中長線回報。

如要充份發揮分散風險的優勢,投資組合所包含的資產,有必要能夠互補長短,即使面對同一宏觀形勢,也會有不同的反應,例如市場上的不利因素,令某一種資產急挫,但對另一資產的影響卻可能微不足道,在投資世界裡,它們會被稱之為低相關性的資產。透過配置相關性較低的資產類別,投資者便能夠更有效地平衡組合的風險與回報。

第三部曲

選定合適路線 追求投資目標

當認清自己的投資目標之後,便可以按着本身的風險承受能力,將資金分配到不同的資產類別,從而建構完整的投資組合。簡單來說,資產配置就是將股票、債券和其他投資工具,放進一個籃子當中,不過各類投資工具有着不同的風險與回報特性,所以資產配置從來都不是簡單任務。

一般來說,回報潛力越高的資產類別,潛在風險也越高。

願意承擔較高風險的基金投資者,其投資組合傾向配置較高比重的股票基金;能夠承擔一定程度風險來爭取投資回報、但又希望避免大幅波動的投資者,在投資配置上的比例會較為平均。至於取態相對保守的投資者,可考慮偏重於風險較低的債券基金。

第四部曲

投資如身體 健康要勤「睇」

經過深思熟慮建構出來的投資組合,一般能夠按設定的風險程度,助投資者逐步邁向理財目標。然而,市場情況隨時間而變化,宏觀經濟和金融事件可以廣泛地影響投資市場。各行各業的基本因素改變,亦會為組合內各種資產類別,帶來不同程度的影響。

例如各地央行會因應經濟情況調節貨幣政策,當利率走勢改變時,不同資產如股票、債券、外幣,以及房地產價格均會受到不同的影響。當經濟環境和市場情況變得不同,之前預期可以表現優異的資產,很有可能在之後落後大市,反之亦然。

因此,隨着市場情況轉變或時間過去,定期檢視自己的投資計劃,並評估組合表現非常重要。如果透過基金投資,除了檢視基金的絕對表現外,更要了解基金相對基準指標的表現,以及與同類型基金表現比較如何。

正如身體檢查一樣,只有定期進行評估,才能清楚投資組合的狀況是否健康,有能力達到預期中的表現

第五部曲

勿忘初衷 重置組合比例

在投資路上,很多人都知道資產配置的重要性。但持續地維持組合的結構同樣重要,投資者卻往往忽略這一點,導致投資組合無法實現長期目標。

隨着市場變化,組合內資產的比重,會因價格漲跌而有所變動。例如在股票牛市時,由於組合內股票基金的價格上升,令其帳面價值增加,倘若組合內其他配置的價格,期內維持平穩或下跌,股票基金佔整體組合的比重便會增加,令投資組合的整體風險水平改變,開始偏離投資者原先的承受能力。

長此下去,各類資產的比例可能會此消彼長,削弱組合的平衡,並影響其達至長期目標的能力。

因此,定期把投資組合中各資產類別的比重,還原至最初擬定的比例,也是長線投資的成功關鍵。重整投資組合時,有可能需要沽出升值的資產部份,或沽出組合的一定比例,同時額外買入貶值的資產。只要定期調整組合比例,便能將風險水平與投資目標重新配合,邁向理財目標。

資料來源﹕滙豐環球投資管理(香港)有限公司

投資組合管理

投資產品知識

管理投資波動

全面的基金資訊覆蓋不同資產類別,助你分散投資組合

Top of main content

Investment 101

13/10/2020
An investment in knowledge pays the best interest - Benjamin Franklin

Why is it important to know how to invest?

  • The Covid-19 pandemic brought huge volatility to the market and a lot of ups and downs to portfolios, but some investors still came out on top.
  • Outperforming portfolios don't just happen by luck, but because of better investment knowledge and the use of the right investment tools and strategies.
  • HSBC is here to guide you through the dos and don’ts of successful investing, to help you achieve your financial goals.

 

Here are the 5 steps to successful investing

Step 1

Conservative? Balanced? Aggressive? Which approach suits you?

Making the first step right is crucial to the long road of investments. Of the five steps, the first is to assess your risk tolerance and decide the most suitable asset allocation for yourself.

Different people have different attitudes towards investment. Some are not willing to take any risks or withstand losses, and therefore would rather forgo potentially higher returns. Some are willing to take some risks but tend to avoid huge volatility. Some are willing to take risks in exchange for returns that outperform the markets.

How to gauge one’s risk tolerance? Look at your investment horizon. Put it simply, the longer your investment life, the higher the risk you can take because you can afford the time to last a cycle, which helps smooth out short-term volatility. For instance, a young person just starts working, who is still far from retirement, can take more risk.

On the contrary, the shorter the investment period, the lower the risk one can take. Assuming you are going to retire next year, and not receiving any regular income, you just do not have the time to recover all losses if your investments take a nosedive all of a sudden.

Besides, your risk tolerance is dependent on your life goals. Ask yourself if you need to set aside funds for your children’s education? Are you going to buy a property in the near future? These factors will have an impact on your cashflow. After all, we all need to reserve some cash at all times just in case there are emergencies.

Step 2

Balancing risk and return is the key to long-term investment

Isn’t it perfect to have an investment tool that always tops the performance league, and investors can stay worry-free just by holding it? The truth is that there are ups and downs in all economic cycles and the markets are capricious. Even investment experts find it hard to predict the performances of all asset classes.

Based on historical data, the same asset can perform drastically differently during different investment cycles. The best-performing asset in 2017 can turn out to be the worst laggard in 2018. That suggests no particular asset can be an all-time winner.

Investors should therefore avoid putting all eggs in one basket but allocate assets across different sectors and geographies. That could help diversify the risk of an investment portfolio, and capture investment opportunities at different times for more stable returns in the medium- to long-term.

To make diversification works, an investment portfolio should include assets that are complementary, that tend to react differently to the same macro condition. More precisely, some negative elements in the market might cause an asset to decline sharply, but pose little threats to another. In the world of investment, such pairs are called lowly-correlated assets. They can effectively balance the risk and return of an investment portfolio.

Step 3

Hit your investment targets with the right approach

Once you have identified your investment targets, you can put your cash into different asset classes and construct a portfolio based on your risk tolerance. The idea of asset allocation is to include equities, bonds and other investment tools in a basket. Since different investment vehicles come with different risk-return profiles, asset allocation is never easy.

Generally, the higher the potential return of an asset class, the higher the risks it carries.

Investors who are willing to take risks tend to see their investment portfolios heavier in equities, while those wishing to avoid huge volatility tend to take a more balanced approach. For conservative investors, bond fund is a good option because of its relatively lower risks.

Step 4

Don’t forget to always maintain the allocated weightings of your assets

A lot of people understand the importance of asset allocation. Yet many fail to maintain their allocations persistently, and therefore unable to realise their long-term goals.

The proportions of different assets within a portfolio change over time as their prices tend to move in line with market vagaries. For instance, during market bull run, the prices of equities will naturally rise while those for other asset classes might stay stable or even drop. That will tilt the weighting of the portfolio towards equities, increase its associated risks, and cause deviations from the original investment strategy.

If no adjustments being made, the balance between different assets will be upset. That will undercut the ability of a portfolio to meet its long-term objectives.

The key to long-term investment is therefore to rebalance the portfolio regularly. Such process involves selling assets that have realised gains (or a certain percentage of the portfolio) and buying undervalued assets. Only through making adjustments regularly can the risk levels and investment goals of a portfolio be aligned for wealth accumulation.

Step 5

Don’t forget to always maintain the allocated weightings of your assets

A lot of people understand the importance of asset allocation. Yet many fail to maintain their allocations persistently, and therefore unable to realise their long-term goals.

The proportions of different assets within a portfolio change over time as their prices tend to move in line with market vagaries. For instance, during market bull run, the prices of equities will naturally rise while those for other asset classes might stay stable or even drop. That will tilt the weighting of the portfolio towards equities, increase its associated risks, and cause deviations from the original investment strategy.

If no adjustments being made, the balance between different assets will be upset. That will undercut the ability of a portfolio to meet its long-term objectives.

The key to long-term investment is therefore to rebalance the portfolio regularly. Such process involves selling assets that have realised gains (or a certain percentage of the portfolio) and buying undervalued assets. Only through making adjustments regularly can the risk levels and investment goals of a portfolio be aligned for wealth accumulation.

 

Source: HSBC Global Asset Management (HK) Ltd.

Portfolio management

Investment products 101

Managing volatility

Don't have an HSBC investment account? Apply online in just 6 steps.
All you need is HKD100 to start your fund investing journey