主內容首部

應對市場波動的五個建議

09/05/2019
股票
投資
市場波動

概要

  • 當今時代,數碼科技連接世界,無數資訊觸手可及,這可能導致短期市場波動更加頻繁。當重大抛售發生時,聳人聽聞的頭條和負面的新聞報道將使情況更加令人不安,往往會動搖投資者執行長期投資計劃的決心。
  • 目前,市場可說已進入商業周期後段,未來或有更多波動。面對市場起伏,萬無一失的方法並不存在,但以下建議應會有所幫助

1.沉穩堅守

短期波動是投資過程不可或缺的一部分

  • 市場會跟隨消息或估值及企業盈利預期而波動。投資者需要記住,金融市場不時波動本是意料中事。
  • 歷史不一定會重演,但總會驚人地相似。短期波動可能隨時發生,但未必會阻礙股市的長期增長。根據以往紀錄,市場會於嚴重挫折(包括經濟低迷及地緣政治事件)之後大幅回升(圖1)。
  • 熱點新聞雖然會影響短期市場氣氛,並導致資產估值降低,但長遠來看,股價最終應是基本因素決定。因此,投資者應避免在波動期間恐慌性抛售,以免錯過潛在的市場回升。

 

圖1:金融市場於金融危機後逐漸回升

 

資料來源:彭博,截至2018年12月31日。所用指數:摩根士丹利世界總回報總額指數。過往表現並不代表未來回報。表現可升亦可跌。

2.持續投資

長期投資可增加正回報機會

  • 市場不穩時,投資者容易受市況影響而退市止損。然而,過於關注短期市場波動的投資者最終可能高買低賣。以往紀錄顯示,金融市場雖會短期波動,但長期仍是上行之勢(圖2)。
  • 儘管市場回升方式並非一成不變,但整固後通常都是參與市場的關鍵時期。保持較長期投資往往會有更高的回報潛力。

 

圖2:環球股票在不同時間範圍的表現

 

資料來源:彭博,截至2018年12月31日。所用指數:摩根士丹利世界總回報總額指數。過往表現並不代表未來回報。表現可升亦可跌。

3.保持分散

分散投資有助於平穩應對波動

  • 簡單來説,分散投資就是「不要把所有雞蛋放入同一個籃子」。不同資產類別往往在不同市況下表現各異(圖3)。
  • 將特點不同的資產納入投資,就可綜合不同投資的風險與表現,從而降低投資組合的整體風險。這意味著,一種資產回報較低時,可因另一種資產的較高回報得到彌補。

 

圖3:各資產類別在不同時間的表現

 

資料來源:晨星、滙豐環球投資管理,數據截至2018年12月31日。所有回報為美元計總回報。所用指數:MSCI世界指數;MSCI新興市場股票指數;摩根大通政府債券指數—新興市場環球多元化指數(新興市場本幣債券);彭博巴克萊環球綜合企業債券指數;洲際交易所美銀美林新興市場債券指數(新興市場硬通貨債券);洲際交易所美銀美林環球高收益債券指數、花旗環球政府債券指數、富時EPPRA /NAREIT上市房地產指數、洲際交易所三個月倫敦銀行同業拆息。債券指數已經對沖,新興市場本幣債券(即環球政府債券、環球企業債券、環球高收益債券、新興市場硬通貨債券)除外。股票未經對沖。過往表現並不代表未來回報。表現可升亦可跌。

4.保持警覺

市場低迷可帶來投資機會

  • 不要因市場下跌感到悲觀。市場氣氛低迷時,估值往往會被壓低,從而帶來投資機會(圖4)。市場上行期間,人們傾向於作出投資,以獲取回報,而市場下行時,則傾向於抛售。當投資者對市況反應過度,就可能錯過表現最佳的幾天。
  • 儘管市場走勢不可預測,但「所有人」都嚴重悲觀時,通常卻是投資的最佳時期。

 

圖4:經濟危機期間環球股票價格較低

 

資料來源:彭博、MSCI所有國家世界每日總回報指數,數據截至2018年12月31日。過往表現並不代表未來回報。表現可升亦可跌。註:市淨率(P/B)是用於比較股票市值與賬面值的比率,由股票的當前收市價除以最近一季每股賬面值計算得出。市淨率較低意味著股票價值被低估。

5.定期投資

不因市場波動而動搖

  • 定期投資意味著持續進行投資而不論市況如何變化。
  • 投資者進行定期定額投資時,會在價格較低時買入較多單位,並在價格較高時買入較少單位。這有助於平穩應對投資過程中的波動,均衡買入單位的平均價格(圖5),從而降低在錯誤時間(尤其是市場劇烈波動時)一次過投資的風險。
  • 投資的時間越長越好,這可為投資增長提供更多時間(複利效應)。

 

圖5:平均成本法有助平緩市場波動的影響

上圖列示每月投資1,000美元與一次過投資12,000美元的對比。一年後,投資總額相同,但每月定期投資(平均成本法)購入的股份總數及累計價值更高。在此假設示例中,平均成本法的每股平均成本低於一次過投資(即0.9美元對比1美元)。請注意,平均成本法未必總是優於一次過投資。

 

資料來源:滙豐環球投資管理。本資料僅作説明用途,與任何投資無關。數字和費率純屬假設。

警告:本文件的內容未經任何香港或任何其他司法管轄區的監管機構審閱。建議您就相關投資及本文件內容審慎行事。如您對本文件的內容有任何疑問,應向獨立人士尋求專業意見。

本文件由香港上海滙豐銀行有限公司(「本行」)在香港經營受管制業務期間發佈,可在其他可合法分發本文件的司法管轄區進行分發,並僅供收件人使用。本文件內容不得複製或進一步分發予任何人士或實體作任何用途,不論是全部或部分內容。本文件不得分發予美國、加拿大或澳洲,或任何其他分發本文件屬非法行為的司法管轄區。所有未經授權複製或使用本文件的行為均屬使用者的責任,並可能引致法律訴訟。

本文件沒有合約價值,並不是且不應被詮釋為進行任何投資買賣,或認購或參與任何服務的要約或要約招攬或建議。本行並沒有建議或招攬任何基於本文件的行動。

本文件內列明的資訊及/或表達的意見由滙豐環球投資管理有限公司提供。我們沒有義務向您發佈任何進一步的刊物或更新本文件的內容,該等內容或隨時變更,並不另行通知。該等內容僅表示作為一般資訊用途的一般市場資訊及/或評論,並不構成買賣投資項目的投資建議或推薦或回報保證。本行沒有參與有關資訊及意見的準備工作。本行對本文件內的資訊及/或意見之準確性及/或完整性不作任何擔保、申述或保證,亦不承擔任何責任,包括任何從相信為可靠但未有獨立進行驗證的來源取得之第三方資訊。任何情況下,本行或滙豐集團均不對任何與您使用本文件或依賴或使用或無法使用本文件內資訊相關的任何損害、損失或法律責任承擔任何責任,包括但不限於直接或間接、特殊、附帶、相應而生的損害、損失或法律責任。

如您持有滙豐環球投資管理有限公司管理的個人投資組合,本文件內的意見不一定代表目前投資組合的構成部分。滙豐環球投資管理有限公司管理的個人投資組合主要反映個別客戶的投資目標、風險喜好、投資年期及市場流動。

本文件內含的資訊未有按您的個人情況審閱。請注意,此資訊並非用作協助作出法律、財政或其他諮詢問題的決定,亦不應作為任何投資或其他決定的依據。您應根據您的投資經驗、目標、財政資源及有關情況,仔細考慮所有投資觀點及投資產品是否合適。您可自行作出投資決定,但除非向您出售產品的中介人根據您的財政情況、投資經驗及投資目標,向您說明該產品適合您,否則不應投資於任何產品。您應細閱相關產品銷售文件了解詳情。

本文件內部分陳述可視為前瞻性陳述,提供目前對未來事件的預期或預測。有關前瞻性陳述並非未來表現或事件的擔保,並涉及風險及不穩定因素。該等陳述不代表任何一項投資,僅用作說明用途。客戶須注意,不能保證本文件內描述的經濟狀況會在未來維持不變。實際結果可能因多種因素而與有關前瞻性陳述所描述的情況有重大差異。我們不保證該等前瞻性陳述內的期望將獲證實或能夠實現,警告您不要過份依賴有關陳述。我們沒有義務更新本文件內的前瞻性陳述,不論是基於新資訊、未來事件或其他原因,亦沒有義務更新實際結果與前瞻性陳述預期不同的原因。

投資涉及風險,必須注意投資的資本價值,且所得收益可升可跌,甚至變得毫無價值,投資者可能無法取回最初投資的金額。本文件內列出的過往表現並非未來表現的可靠指標,不應依賴任何此內的預測、預期及模擬作為未來結果的指標。有關過往表現的資料可能過時。有關最新資訊請聯絡您的客戶經理。

任何市場的投資均可能出現極大波動,並受多種因直接及間接因素造成不同幅度的突發波動影響。這些特徵可導致涉及有關市場的人士蒙受巨大損失。若提早撤回或終止投資,或無法取回投資全額。除一般投資風險外,國際投資可能涉及因貨幣價值出現不利波動、公認會計原則之差別或特定司法管轄區經濟或政治不穩而造成的資本損失風險。範圍狹窄的投資及較小規模的公司一般會出現較大波動。不能保證交易表現正面。新興市場的投資本質上涉及較高風險,可能較其他成熟市場固有的投資出現較大波動。新興市場的經濟大幅取決於國際貿易,因此一直以來並可能繼續會受貿易壁壘、外匯管制、相對幣值控制調整及其他貿易國家實施或協商的保障措施不利影響。有關經濟亦一直並可能繼續受其貿易國的經濟情況不利影響。互惠基金投資受市場風險影響,您應細閱所有計劃相關文件。

版權所有© 香港上海滙豐銀行有限公司2019。保留一切權利。未經香港上海滙豐銀行有限公司事先書面許可,不得以任何形式或任何方式(無論是電子、機械、影印、攝錄或其他方式)複製或傳送本刊物任何部分或將其任何部分儲存於檢索系統內。

由香港上海滙豐銀行有限公司刊發

Issued by The Hongkongand Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited

登入滙豐個人網上理財查看你的投資表現

Top of main content

5 Tips to Handle Market Volatility

09/05/2019
Market volatility
Investment
Equities

Introduction

  • In today’s digitally connected world, short-term market volatility can be more prevalent thanks to the immense amount of information at one’s fingertips. When dramatic sell-offs happen, it can be upsetting especially in the face of sensational headlines and negative media coverage, often challenging investors’ commitments to their long-term investment plans.
  • Now that we are arguably in the later stage of the business cycle, further periods of volatility may lie ahead. While there is no fool-proof method to navigate market ups and downs, the following tips can help.

1 . Keep calm

Short-term volatility is part and parcel of the investment journey

  • Markets can fluctuate depending on the news flow or expectations on valuations and corporate earnings. It is important to remember that volatility is to be expected from time to time in financial markets.
  • History does not necessarily repeat itself, but it does rhyme. Short-term volatility can occur at any time, but they do not necessarily derail the long-term growth in stock markets. Historically, significant recoveries occur following major setbacks including economic downturns and geopolitical events (Chart 1).
  • While headline-grabbing news can affect short-term market sentiment and lead to reductions in asset valuations, share prices should ultimately be driven by fundamentals over the long run. Therefore, investors should avoid panic selling during volatile periods, to avoid missing out any potential market recovery.

Chart 1: Financial markets have risen after the financial crisis over time

 

Source: Bloomberg, as at 31 December 2018. Index used: S&P500 Total Return Index.

Past performance is not an indication of future returns. The performance may go down as well as up. 

2 . Remain invested

Long-term investing increases the chance of positive returns

  • When markets get rocky, it is tempting to exit the market to avoid further losses. However, those who focus on short-term market volatility may end up buying high and selling low. History has shown that financial markets go up in the long run despite short-term fluctuations (Chart 2).
  • Though markets do not always follow the same recovery paths, periods after corrections are often critical times to be exposed to the markets. Staying invested for longer periods tends to offer higher return potential.

Chart 2: The performance range of global equities over different time frames

 

Source: Bloomberg, as of 31 December 2018, calculated by rolling returns in USD within 1 year, 3 years, 5 years and 10 years timeframe. Index used: MSCI AC

World Total Return Index. Past performance is not an indication of future returns. The performance may go down as well as up.

3 . Stay diversified

Diversification can help achieve a smoother ride

  • Diversification basically means ‘don’t put all your eggs in one basket’. Different asset classes often perform differently under various market conditions (Chart 3).
  • By combining assets with different characteristics, the risks and performance of different investments are combined, thus lowering overall portfolio risk. That means, a lower return in one type of asset may be compensated by a gain in another.

Chart 3: The performance of each asset class varies over time

Source: Morningstar, HSBC Global Asset Management, data as at 31 December 2018. All returns in USD, total return.

Indices used: MSCI World Index; MSCI Emerging Market Equity; JPMorgan GBI-EM Global Diversified; Bloomberg Barclays Global Aggregate Corporate Bond Index; ICE Bank of America Merrill Lynch Emerging Market Bond Index; ICE Bank of America Merrill Lynch Global High Yield, Citi World Government Bond Index, FTSE EPPRA/NAREIT Listed Property Index, ICE LIBOR 3 Month

Bond indices are hedged, excluding emerging market government bond local currency (i.e. global government, global corporate, global high yield, emerging market government bond hard currency). Equities are unhedged.

Past performance is not an indication of future returns. The performance may go down as well as up.

4 . Stay alert

Market downturns may create opportunities

  • Don’t be passive in the face of market declines. When market sentiment is low, valuations tend to be driven down which provides investment opportunities (Chart 4). In rising markets, people tend to invest as they chase returns, while in declining markets people tend to sell. When investors overreact to market conditions, they may miss out some of the best-performing days.
  • Though no one can predict market movements, the times when ‘everyone’ is overwhelmingly negative often turns out to be the best times to invest.

Chart 4: Global equities trade cheaper during economic crises

Source: Bloomberg, MSCI AC World Daily Total Return Index, data as of 31 December 2018. Past performance is not an indication of future returns. The performance may go down as well as up.

Note: Price to book ratio (P/B Ratio) is a ratio used to compare a stock's market value to its book value. It is calculated by dividing the current closing price of the stock by the latest quarter's book value per share. A lower P/B ratio could mean that the stock is undervalued.

5 . Invest regularly

despite volatility

  • Investing regularly means continuous investment regardless of what is happening in the markets.
  • When investors make fixed regular investments, they buy more units when prices are low and less when prices are high. This will smooth out the investment journey and average out the price at which units are bought (Chart 5). It thus reduces the risk of investing a lump sum at the wrong time, particularly amid market volatility.
  • The longer the time frame for investment the better, because it allows more time for investments to grow (the compounding effect).

Chart 5: Dollar-cost averaging helps smooth the effects of market movements

The chart shows what happens to USD1,000 invested monthly vs a lump-sum investment of USD12,000. After a year, the total amount invested is the same, but the total shares purchased and the cumulative value are higher for monthly regular investment (dollar-cost averaging). Average cost per share for dollar-cost averaging is cheaper than lump-sum investment (USD0.90 vs USD1.00) in this hypothetical example. Please note that dollar-cost averaging may not always outperform lump-sum investment.

 

Source: HSBC Global Asset Management. This information is for illustrative purposes only and does not relate to any investments. The figures and rates are purely hypothetical.

WARNING: THE CONTENTS OF THIS DOCUMENT HAVE NOT BEEN REVIEWED BY ANY REGULATORY AUTHORITY IN HONG KONG OR ANY OTHER JURISDICTION. YOU ARE ADVISED TO EXERCISE CAUTION IN RELATION TO THE INVESTMENT AND THIS DOCUMENT.  IF YOU ARE IN DOUBT ABOUT ANY OF THE CONTENTS OF THIS DOCUMENT, YOU SHOULD OBTAIN INDEPENDENT PROFESSIONAL ADVICE.

This document has been issued by The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited (the "Bank") in the conduct of its regulated business in Hong Kong and may be distributed in other jurisdictions where its distribution is lawful.  It is not intended for anyone other than the recipient.  The contents of this document may not be reproduced or further distributed to any person or entity, whether in whole or in part, for any purpose. This document must not be distributed to the United States, Canada or Australia or to any other jurisdiction where its distribution is unlawful.  All non-authorised reproduction or use of this document will be the responsibility of the user and may lead to legal proceedings.

This document has no contractual value and is not and should not be construed as an offer or the solicitation of an offer or a recommendation for the purchase or sale of any investment or subscribe for, or to participate in, any services. The Bank is not recommending or soliciting any action based on it.

The information stated and/or opinion(s) expressed in this document are provided by HSBC Global Asset Management Limited.  We do not undertake any obligation to issue any further publications to you or update the contents of this document and such contents are subject to changes at any time without notice.  They are expressed solely as general market information and/or commentary for general information purposes only and do not constitute investment advice or recommendation to buy or sell investments or guarantee of returns.  The Bank has not been involved in the preparation of such information and opinion.  The Bank makes no guarantee, representation or warranty and accepts no responsibility for the accuracy and/or completeness of the information and/or opinions contained in this document, including any third party information obtained from sources it believes to be reliable but which has not been independently verified.  In no event will the Bank or HSBC Group be liable for any damages, losses or liabilities including without limitation, direct or indirect, special, incidental, consequential damages, losses or liabilities, in connection with your use of this document or your reliance on or use or inability to use the information contained in this document.

In case you have individual portfolios managed by HSBC Global Asset Management Limited, the views expressed in this document may not necessarily indicate current portfolios' composition. Individual portfolios managed by HSBC Global Asset Management Limited primarily reflect individual clients' objectives, risk preferences, time horizon, and market liquidity.

The information contained within this document has not been reviewed in the light of your personal circumstances. Please note that this information is neither intended to aid in decision making for legal, financial or other consulting questions, nor should it be the basis of any investment or other decisions. You should carefully consider whether any investment views and investment products are appropriate in view of your investment experience, objectives, financial resources and relevant circumstances. The investment decision is yours but you should not invest in any product unless the intermediary who sells it to you has explained to you that the product is suitable for you having regard to your financial situation, investment experience and investment objectives.  The relevant product offering documents should be read for further details.

Some of the statements contained in this document may be considered forward-looking statements which provide current expectations or forecasts of future events. Such forward looking statements are not guarantees of future performance or events and involve risks and uncertainties. Such statements do not represent any one investment and are used for illustration purpose only. Customers are reminded that there can be no assurance that economic conditions described herein will remain in the future. Actual results may differ materially from those described in such forward-looking statements as a result of various factors. We can give no assurance that those expectations reflected in those forward-looking statements will prove to have been correct or come to fruition, and you are cautioned not to place undue reliance on such statements. We do not undertake any obligation to update the forward-looking statements contained herein, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise, or to update the reasons why actual results could differ from those projected in the forward-looking statements.

Investment involves risk.  It is important to note that the capital value of investments and the income from them may go down as well as up and may become valueless and investors may not get back the amount originally invested. Past performance contained in this document is not a reliable indicator of future performance whilst any forecasts, projections and simulations contained herein should not be relied upon as an indication of future results. Past performance information may be out of date. For up-to-date information, please contact your Relationship Manager.

Investment in any market may be extremely volatile and subject to sudden fluctuations of varying magnitude due to a wide range of direct and indirect influences. Such characteristics can lead to considerable losses being incurred by those exposed to such markets. If an investment is withdrawn or terminated early, it may not return the full amount invested. In addition to the normal risks associated with investing, international investments may involve risk of capital loss from unfavourable fluctuations in currency values, from differences in generally accepted accounting principles or from economic or political instability in certain jurisdictions. Narrowly focused investments and smaller companies typically exhibit higher volatility. There is no guarantee of positive trading performance. Investments in emerging markets are by their nature higher risk and potentially more volatile than those inherent in some established markets. Economies in emerging markets generally are heavily dependent upon international trade and, accordingly, have been and may continue to be affected adversely by trade barriers, exchange controls, managed adjustments in relative currency values and other protectionist measures imposed or negotiated by the countries with which they trade. These economies also have been and may continue to be affected adversely by economic conditions in the countries in which they trade. Mutual fund investments are subject to market risks. You should read all scheme related documents carefully.

Copyright © The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited 2019. All rights reserved. No part of this publication may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system, or transmitted, on any form or by any means, electronic, mechanical, photocopying, recording, or otherwise, without the prior written permission of The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited.

 

Issued by The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited

Log on to Internet Banking and check your investments performance
Our staff can help you get started in your investment journey