若您已取得已故亲人的死亡证明书,请您亲临任何一间汇丰分行向我们提供死亡证明书正本。当我们收到您的通知,我们将会通知汇丰香港零售银行业务部,并知会您是否需要就特定账户采取进一步行动。您可能需要同时通知汇丰香港零售银行以外的其他业务部门,因此请您参阅有用的联系信息的例子。如已故亲人为退休公务员,请同时通知香港特别行政区政府库务署(联系方式见有用的联系信息)。

 

任何以已故客户之个人名义开立的账户(已故客户仍未结清的按揭贷款除外)将会被冻结。 意即:

  • 账户内的余额会被保留及无法被提取,但存款利息及股息将会继续存入已故客户的账户
  • 信用卡的交易授权不会被允许
  • 任何常行指示和自动转账 - 包括公共事业服务账单,按揭或贷款供款将被取消。 您需要另作安排以继续支付这些账单

 

对于已故客户与他人共同开设的联名账户, 我们将会从账户中删除已故客户的姓名,使其成为尚存者持有的账户。

对于其他汇丰账户、产品或服务,我们在以下步骤五中列出了更多详细信息。

在您告知我们您的亲人不幸逝世后,我们将不再向已故客户发出与账户相关的结单或通知书,但由于部分邮件已预先准备,在您通知我们您的亲人去世后的短时间内,您仍然可能会收到我们发出与已故客户有关的邮件。给您带来不便,敬请见谅。

 

 

为了避免在处理已故客户资产时可能造成的任何不便,您需要先获得已故客户的账户资料,尤其是所有账户号码以及截至去世当日结余。如果您并不清楚这些资料,或者甚至不确定已故客户是否拥有汇丰账户,欢迎您亲临任何一间汇丰分行查询。

请携同以下文件到我们的分行进行查询:

  • 已故客户的死亡证明书正本或核证副本
  • 已故客户的身分证明文件正本
  • 查询账户结余的申请人的身分证明文件正本
  • 查询账户结余的申请人与已故客户之间的关系证明文件,例如结婚证明书,父母或子女的出生证明书
  • 最后订立的遗嘱正本,如有

 

我们的分行职员将会为您填写申请表查询已故客户的账户结余,并通常于15个工作天内将已故客户截至去世当日的账户结余纪录邮寄给您。您申请遗嘱认证时将需要这些纪录(参照下页步驟四)。我们了解您此时的心情,因此我们不会就此查询收取任何费用。

这是概览页面共5个步骤中的第2个步骤。

丧亲指引 - 您可以保存电子版本打印版本指引以供参考。

You can notify HSBC of the death after obtaining the Death Certificate of the deceased. All you need to do is to visit one of our HSBC branches with the original Death Certificate of the deceased. As soon as we are informed of a death, we will pass the information to the retail banking division of HSBC Hong Kong and let you know if you need to do anything else regarding specific accounts. However, you will also need to inform the non-banking arms and the other divisions of HSBC Hong Kong, if applicable, and some examples can be found in the useful contact. Furthermore, in the case of pensioners - The Treasury, The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR), should be informed too and its contact details can be found in useful contact.

 

If the deceased had any accounts that are opened under his own name (ie sole-name accounts), these will be frozen, with the exception of a Home Mortgage Loan with a loan repayment schedule running beyond the date of death. This means:

  • No money can be taken out of the accounts. However, any deposit interests and dividends would continue to be paid into the deceased’s accounts.
  • Credit card transactions would not be approved.
  • Any Standing Instructions & Autopay – including utility bills, mortgage or loan payments will be cancelled. Please note that alternative arrangements may need to be made to continue paying these bills.

 

There can also be banking accounts which the deceased opened jointly with other parties. We would remove the name of the deceased from the account, making it an account to be held under the name of the surviving account holder(s).

For other HSBC accounts, products or services, you can read on for more details on Step 5.

After you have told us that a person has passed away, we will not issue any further account statements or advices to the deceased. It is possible that for a short time after you have told us that a person has passed away, they may still be sent mail from us and we apologise for this. This is because the mail was prepared and printed in advance. However, we will avoid this where possible.

 

To avoid any possible inconvenience when handling the deceased’s assets, it is important that you obtain full details of the accounts the deceased maintained with the Bank, especially the account number of all accounts held and their respective account balances as at the date of death. If you do not already have an accurate picture of the deceased’s estate, or are not even sure if the deceased maintained a relationship with HSBC, you are welcome to come in person to one of our HSBC branches to make an enquiry.

 

When you visit our branches, please bring along the following documents:

  • Original or certified copy of Death Certificate of the deceased
  • Original identification documents of the deceased
  • Original identification documents of the person making the account balance enquiry
  • Original proof of relationship between the person making the account balance enquiry and the deceased eg marriage certificate for spouse, birth certificate for parents/children
  • Original Will of the deceased, if any

 

We would then complete a request form for the enquiry of outstanding balance of the deceased’s accounts for you during your branch visit. The account number and balances for each account would be retrieved from our records, as at the date of death, and sent to you by mail normally within 15 business days. You will need this information when applying for Probate in Step 4 below. We understand the circumstances that you are in and would not charge a fee for this purpose.

This is step 2 of 5 outlined on the overview page.

Bereavement Guide - you may save an electronic copy of the Bereavement Guide. Alternatively, you may print out the Bereavement Guide.