主內容首部
一個女士正在使用智能手機;圖像用於人到中年,最易中甚麼詐騙陷阱。

人到中年,最易中甚麼詐騙陷阱?

某晚在看電視的時候,您的電話突然響起。您拿起手機一看,是一個「+852」字頭的號碼來電。

電話裏的人自稱政府機構職員,說得出您的姓氏,還說:「我們懷疑您洗黑錢。您必須馬上提供個人、銀行戶口及密碼資料,讓我們徹底調查。」您驚慌失措,越聽越覺得對方有道理,政府的人總不會不可信吧?為了證明自己的清白,您會將戶口和密碼資料全部交出,還是先冷靜下來,向機構或銀行核實來電者身份,再向銀行確認您的戶口和資金有沒有被動用?

中年最易中電騙陷阱

收到詐騙電話,其實您絕不「孤單」。如果您真的在恐慌之下交出個人資料,那您就可能已墮入騙局。

根據我們最新的調查指出1,超過80%香港人曾經成為詐騙目標,26%墮入騙案,平均損失港幣3,800 元。當中10%受訪者跌下電騙陷阱,平均損失超過港幣1,000 元。而詐騙電話和假冒官員,更是港人最常遇到的騙案。

調查也反映,X世代(40-55歲)傾向服從權威人物,在電子支付、網上情緣、身份盜竊、冒充官員、求職騙案及詐騙電話六大常見騙案中,比較容易墮入冒充官員和電話騙案陷阱。

「我才不會上當」

很多人都有這樣的想法,但這樣想,其實會不會忽視了假冒來電的危險?您可能認為自己才不會像那10%受害人一樣,這麼容易就將資料雙手奉上。但您以為只是「協助調查」,提供全名和出生日期就無問題?

騙徒是捉弄人心的高手,即使您一開始拒絕他們的要求,他們仍然會威逼利誘,要您透露更多敏感資料來「驗證身份」。到您發現自己說得太多時,可能已經太遲。

況且,您對自己的資料和身份安全真的從來沒有疏忽大意嗎?只要公開、透露或提供過個人資料,就會留下數碼足跡,讓騙徒用「社交工程」的技倆乘虛而入。想知道到底甚麼是「社交工程」?您可以怎樣防範?看看我們的「甚麼是『社交工程』詐騙?」「如何防範『社交工程』詐騙」,了解保護自己的方法。

防範電騙貼士

要進一步保障自己,記住做足以下措施,等騙徒無計可施。

  • 切勿向陌生人提供敏感資料:

    例如銀行登入資料及一次性密碼 (OTP),透露這些資料可令遭受財務損失的機會分別上升超過2倍及1.5倍

  • 留心來電號碼:

    「+」號表示號碼屬境外來電,若同時顯示「852」香港區號,極有可能是偽冒號碼

  • 主動向機構、銀行或公司核實來電者身份:

    電郵、致電或前往官方網站等多渠道核實對方身份

  • 避免在社交媒體分享太多個人資料:

    日常生活分享得越多,騙徒掌握得越多,更可以藉此編造故事來接近您

  • 採用雙重認證:

    在裝備啓用雙重認證或生物認證功能,加強保障

騙徒善於玩弄您的心理,捏造事實引您上當,接到可疑來電,記得保持冷靜,立即掛線。想知道其他年齡層最易中甚麼陷阱,等身邊人都可以保護自己?

如果懷疑已經遇上詐騙,請即時向我們舉報

1 滙豐於2020 年8月和9月期間進行調查,訪問800名18-55歲的受訪者,按照香港人口普查數據,反映香港人口的年齡和性別結構。

Top of main content
A woman is using smart phone; image used for What kind of cyber scams do middle-aged people commonly fall for.

What kind of cyber scams do middle-aged people commonly fall for?

Picture this: while casually watching TV at home one night, you hear your mobile phone ring. You look at the screen and a number starting with "+852" shows up on the display.

You pick up and the person calling addresses you by your surname and tells you they work for the government. "We suspect you're involved in illegal money laundering activities. We need your personal details, bank account information and passwords for our investigation."

Understandably, you start to panic - the caller seems to be making so much sense. After all, they're calling on behalf of the government, so surely this is a call from an authority you were always taught to respect? To prove your innocence, would you give the caller the information they asked for? Or will you take a minute to gather your thoughts, calm down and make a call to the relevant government office or the bank to confirm the caller's actual identity? The bank would be able to verify whether your accounts or financials have been accessed.

Gen Xers are most vulnerable to bogus calls

You're not the only one getting such fraudulent calls. If in a state of panic, you handed over your personal data to the caller impersonating a government official, you can fall prey to a phone scam.

Our latest cybersecurity survey1 reveals that more than 80% of Hongkongers have been the target of fraud, among which 26% have already fallen prey to scams and lost an average of HKD3,800 as a result. 10% of survey respondents said they have lost over HKD1,000 on average to phone scams, together with the government imposter scams that we just talked about, they're just about the 2 most common types of fraud in Hong Kong.

Our survey findings show Generation X (individuals aged 40-55 years old) is more compliant towards authority, which then makes them more susceptible to phone scams and government official impersonation, compared to digital payment, romance and job scams, and identity theft.

"No way, I'd never fall for such scams!"

That's a common mindset a lot of people have, but is it really safe for you to make such an assumption? You may think you won't be part of the 10% who gave out whatever private information the caller asked for. But what if the 'official' asks for your full name and date of birth to assist them in their money laundering investigations?

Experienced scammers know how to get what they want even if they're faced with an initial refusal, so it's likely the caller would ask more questions to push you to disclose more personal details so they can 'confirm your identity'. By the time you've realised you have talked too much and shared too much, it'd probably already be too late.

Besides, are you really sure you've never carelessly or accidentally shared your personal data and identity digitally? Remember, every time you shared or told someone your personal information online, you're creating a digital footprint, making yourself more vulnerable to such social engineering attacks. To find out more about how social engineering scams work and how to protect yourself from them, here are some helpful resources you can read:

Tips to help you stay protected from phone scams

In order to avoid phone scams, remember to adopt these important steps to prevent fraudsters from getting what they want.

  • Don't give away any sensitive details to strangers:

    These include your online banking credentials and one-time passwords (OTPs). Sharing such information increases your chances of financial losses by 2X and 1.5X, respectively

  • Pay attention to the number showing up on your phone:

    Phone numbers starting with a "+" originate from overseas, so if the number contains a "+852" prefix, it's most likely a spoofed number and not a local call

  • Confirm the identity of the caller with the relevant government department, your bank or whatever company they're claiming to call from:

    Email, call or visit official websites to verify if the caller is who they say they are

  • Don't overshare your personal details on social media:

    Scammers can easily piece together a story from the information you share on your social media accounts and then use these details to build a scam against you

  • Activate two-factor authentication (2FA):

    Use multi-factor or biometric authentication to incorporate more security for your devices

Scammers are usually well-versed in playing psychological games and creating elaborate schemes to trick you, so if you get any call that makes you suspicious at all, the rule of thumb to follow is to keep calm and just hang up.

To find out more about the biggest cybersecurity threats other age groups face so you can empower the people you care about to protect themselves, here are some articles that are a great place to start:

If you think you've already experienced a scam, don't wait any longer and report it to us immediately.

1 Conducted in August and September 2020, the HSBC survey covers a sample size of 800 respondents aged 18-55 years old, which is representative of the Hong Kong population in terms of age and gender based on Hong Kong census data.