主要内容顶部
一个男孩正在使用平板电脑;图像用于心急求职,小心误堕骗案。

心急求职,小心误堕骗案

刚毕业投入职场?还是想换工作更上一层楼?看见工资高、工时短、福利多的工作难免令人心动,但如果这份工真的好到难以置信,很有可能因为它是假的。

打开社交网站,您看到这样的招聘广告:

“招请员工协助汇款,毋须学历经验,月入数万,申请时须提供收入证明及身份证副本。招请名额有限,马上致电申请。”

轻轻松松就月入数万?您有点怀疑,但这么“难得”的“好工作”可能转瞬即逝,于是您还是打电话去问问详情。

“我们的工作很简单。我们会借用你的账户汇款,你再将钱转去别的户口就可以赚取佣金。就是要你的收入证明和身份证副本,还要交点保证金,免得你收到汇款后跑路。”

您想:“不就是要一点个人资料嘛,老板也只是想买个保险才要求保证金,挺合理啊。”

于是您用手机拍下住址信件和身份证等文件,然后打开电子支付程序,准备将保证金转账给您的“未来老板”,满心期望不用花太多力气就可以赚钱,真好﹗

停一停,别上当

慢着,先别急着开始投入“新工作”。您有没有想过为什么“未来老板”要借用您的账户?为什么要您交出收入证明、住址和身份证副本?为什么上班前要先交钱?您以为自己好运遇上“绝世好工”,其实只是一头栽进骗案中。

汇丰最新的调查发现1,超过80%香港人曾经成为骗徒的目标。超过26%的受访者更曾遇上电子支付骗案,当中有13%受骗。换言之,有一半人曾堕进骗局,被骗比例在六大最常见骗案中(电子支付、网上情缘、身份盗窃,冒充官员,求职骗案及诈骗电话)最高,平均损失港币2,500元,金额属第二高。

您以为不预交费用就没事?随便提供个人资料,同样会令您被骗的机会大增!骗徒只要掌握您的银行登录资料、近照、一次性密码(OTP)、出生日期、电邮地址和身份证号码,就可以代您完成交易。他们更可以用您的收入证明、个人住址和身份证副本向银行贷款,要您帮他们还钱。

而且由于60% Z世代(18-24 岁)受访者在求职时较愿意分享个人资料,所以相对容易遇上电子支付和求职骗局,更有30% Z世代会向别人透露电子钱包的资料,令自己处于危险之中。

防范求职骗案提示

所以,即使您经常使用数码科技,也不要以为自己一定不会上当。记得做好以下措施,谨慎分享个人资料:

  • 申请工作时,切勿提供过多个人信息:

    不要早在申请工作时就提供住址证明及身份证副本等资料。正规的公司聘请您后,可能会要求您提供这些资料作背景审查,但如果有公司要您在申请工作时就向他们提供资料,就要小心提防

  • 切勿提供敏感资料:

    千万不要透露银行登录资料及一次性密码(OTP)

  • 查探空缺真伪:

    搜寻招聘广告的电话号码,检查它是否来自合法的公司

  • 了解和您对话的“公司员工”:

    骗徒擅长在电话上假冒身分,所以就算他们侃侃而谈,向您介绍“公司”背景,也要记得查探他们的身分。您可以搜一下他们有没有LinkedIn的个人页面、上面有没有相片,看看他们的工作经验和职位吻不吻合。

  • 事先了解公司资料:

    例如公司背景、规模及地址

  • 不要预缴费用:

    申请工作时,不要付给对方任何费用

不要因为心急求职,而误堕骗局。想知道其他年龄层最容易中什么陷阱,帮身边的人保护自己?

如果怀疑已经遇上诈骗,请即时向我们举报

1 汇丰于2020年8月和9月期间进行调查,访问800名18-55岁的受访者,按照香港人口普查数据,反映香港人口的年龄和性别结构。

Top of main content
A boy is using tablet; image used for HSBC Hong Kong open banking.

How to stay safe from job scams

Fresh out of school and raring to enter the workforce? Or are you an eager beaver looking for the next best opportunity or a better paying job? It might be tempting to lap up job ads that promise a huge pay raise, amazing perks and short hours, but if a career opportunity sounds too good to be true, chances are, it probably is.

Let's say one day you log on to social media and a job ad pops up:

Make money quick and easy! We're hiring people to assist in making money transfers. No experience or education required. All you have to do is send us a copy of your HKID card and proof of income to apply. Limited openings, better call us now!

You think to yourself: the "make money quick and easy" bit sounds a bit too good to be true, but it's so exclusive that they're hiring just a few people, so any hesitation would mean missing out on a golden opportunity. Plus, it doesn't hurt to call and ask for details, right? So you make the fateful call.

"This is an easy job. We just need to borrow your bank account for the money transfers. How it works is we'll deposit some money to your account, and once you've wired the money to our account overseas, you'll earn a commission. Easy, huh? All we need is a copy of your HKID card, proof of your income and some cash upfront to make sure you won't run away once you've received our money for the transfers. It's just for our precaution."

You think to yourself, "They are transferring their money into my account, so of course they'll need my personal details and a cash deposit to make sure. Sounds fair."

So you take a picture of your HKID card and your payslip, and use your mobile payment app to transfer the money to your 'future boss', in the hopes of kick-starting this exciting endeavour that will bring in extra money for you without you even trying too hard. It's pretty much effortless!

Wait just a second - Does it sound too perfect?

Slow down and think – have you ever wondered why your 'new boss' needs to borrow your bank account for transfers? Why does the company need you to give them detailed copies of your payslip, proof of address and HKID card at such an initial stage of a job opportunity? And why do you have to pay them before you start work? The truth is: you thought you found the perfect job, but it was nothing more than an elaborate scam.

Based on our survey1, over 80% of Hongkongers have been the target of fraud. 26% of them have encountered digital payment fraud, making it the most common type of fraud occurring in the city, which also include romance and job scams, identity theft, official impersonations, and bogus calls. Out of the 26%, half actually fell for the scam and wound up losing money. On average, job seekers were tricked into giving up HKD2,500, the second highest amount of money conned out of all 6 types of scams.

"They can't scam me if I don't pay them a single penny." Unfortunately, this isn't true. Giving out your personal information already amplifies your chance of losing money. Fraudsters only need your online banking credentials, a recent headshot, one-time-passwords (OTPs), your date of birth and HKID number to complete a transaction or make a transfer in your name. 

In fact, all that's needed to get a loan from a bank is a copy of your HKID card, payslip and proof of your home address. A scammer can easily apply to borrow money and leave you responsible for their debt.

Our survey also reveals that 60% of the people in Generation Z (individuals aged 18-24 years old) are more willing to share important personal information with potential employers, making them more vulnerable to digital payment scams and job fraud. In fact, 30% of them even went on to disclose their e-wallet info, rendering themselves completely defenseless against scammers.

Tips to help you stay protected from job scams

Even if you're digitally savvy, you shouldn't underestimate the damage fake online job offers could cause. Follow these tips to keep your personal data protected against bogus career scams

  • Don't give out too much information in job applications:

    Details you shouldn't provide right at the beginning of a job application include proof of your home address and copies of your HKID card. These details could be asked for later during a background check by a legitimate company, but if you're asked to provide them at the start, that's a huge red flag to be aware of

  • Don't reveal sensitive details or information:

    Definitely don't be giving away information such as your online banking credentials and one-time passwords (OTPs).

  • Check if the job opening is authentic:

    Google the phone number the company listed on the job ad and make sure you call it to see if it's linked to a reliable organisation.

  • Do a thorough check on the people you're speaking with:

    Even if you do reach someone on the phone and they appear to speak to you with legitimate information about the company, be sure to probe more to verify as fraudsters could very well be manning a bogus number to make their scam more convincing. For instance, check to see if they have LinkedIn profiles with display pictures on them, and also see if their past work experience squares with the title they claim to currently hold

  • Do your own research on the company:

    Look for the firm's background information, its scale of operation and its address

  • Don't pay to work:

    When applying for jobs, don't pay any fees upfront to the company or related parties

Remember, there's nothing wrong with being eager to find a new job or get a higher salary, but be aware that this may make you more vulnerable to job scams. To find out more about the biggest cybersecurity threats other age groups face so you can empower the people you care about to protect themselves, here are some articles that are a great place to start:

If you think you've already experienced a scam, don't wait any longer and report it to us immediately.

1 Conducted in August and September 2020, the HSBC survey covers a sample size of 800 respondents aged 18-55 years old, which is representative of the Hong Kong population in terms of age and gender based on Hong Kong census data.