主內容首部
鍵盤上的鎖; 圖像用於香港滙豐的提防社交工程詐騙陷阱。

甚麼是「社交工程」詐騙?

您可能不時在新聞聽說騙徒用「社交工程」(Social engineering )的技倆,入侵電腦或賬戶,盜取個人資料及財產。但到底甚麼是「社交工程」?它和一般詐騙有甚麼分別?您可以如何防範?讓我們為您講解清楚。

甚麼是「社交工程」詐騙?

簡單而言,「社交工程」指一種仿冒他人的詐騙伎倆。騙徒會以不同籍口,騙取您的信任,讓您自願透露機密資料。

這種手法稱為「社交工程」,是因為騙徒會以高超的社交技巧,操控別人的心理。他們會像進行建築工程一樣,以謊言“建構”出可信的情境,讓您感到恐慌或緊張而在一時大意下將個人資料和金錢雙手奉上。

聯繫虛擬活動的圖像使用於滙豐社交工程常見手法。

社交工程常見手法

騙徒的常見招數包括偽冒電話、電郵、網頁及應用程式,他們也會偽裝成您的親友,或者是為人信賴的機構人員,例如銀行職員、電信公司、甚至政府機構及警察,要求您交出賬戶密碼等個人敏感資料。

一般而言,他們的攻擊手法主要分為兩種:

  • 漁翁撒網式

    騙徒會以「廣度代替深度」,到處發放詐騙資料尋找上釣的受害人。他們可能會在社交媒體登刊廣告,以名人「分享」投資心得推廣投資產品,然後在互聯網或電話要求您透露信用卡資料等個人資訊。

  • 集中攻擊式

    但不要以為您只要小心詐騙廣告、偽冒網頁和詐騙電話就萬無一失。有時候,騙徒也會「以深度代替廣度」,集中攻擊少數人士。他們可能會在網上設立假冒的交友賬戶,和您「交心」一段長時間後,向您索取金錢。騙徒也可能會細心研究所您的社交媒體內容,了解您的喜好、工作、經歷和朋友圈,冒認和您相熟,降低您的戒心,引您上釣。

安全環境的圖像使用於滙豐防範詐騙對策。

防範詐騙對策

  • 切勿輕易透露個人資料

    騙徒會出盡辦法,哄騙您交出個人資料。請緊記,滙豐絕對不會要求您透露:

    1.一次性密碼(OTP)

    2.賬戶密碼

    3.信用卡安全碼

    所以,請勿在電話、短信及電郵上向自稱滙豐職員提供這些保密資料。如有懷疑,請主動向我們求證或回報,但切勿使用可疑電郵提供的聯絡方法。

  • 採用雙重認證

    請啓用雙重認證或生物認證功能,保障戶口免被盜用。了解如何啓用相關功能,保護您的理財賬戶。

  • 避免在社交媒體分享太多個人資料

    在社交媒體分享個人資訊時,請小心謹慎,以免被騙徒利用。

  • 懷疑遇上詐騙,請即向我們回報

    可能遇上詐騙?請即時向我們舉報

社交工程攻擊善於玩弄人性和心理,可能會令您覺得防不勝防。但只要提高警覺,保持冷靜,就不難發現謊言中的漏洞。更多防範詐騙貼士,請閱讀我們的「防詐騙三大法則」,保護您的資料和財產。

Top of main content
A lock on the keyboard; image used for HSBC Hong Kong social engineering.

What is a social engineering scam?

Criminals use social engineering tactics to hack into your computer or account and steal personal information and money. How do they do this and how does it differ from other scams? We can show you how to prevent it.

What is a social engineering scam?

Social engineering scams are where criminals try to con you using impersonation. Fraudsters attempt to win your trust and trick you into voluntarily disclosing confidential information, or giving them money directly.

This technique is called a "social engineering scam", because scammers use powerful social skills to try and manipulate the psychology of their victims. They use lies to construct a realistic situation to either scare you or excite you. In either case, they hope you'll hand over your personal information and hard-earned money.   

Contact virtual active icon used for hsbc common social engineering attacks.

Common social engineering scams

Scammers commonly use fake phone calls, emails, web pages, chat messages and apps. They might impersonate your relatives and friends or officials from trusted organisaitons such as entities such as  such as banks, telecommunications companies and government agencies. They do it with the intent of convincing you to give them your sensitive personal information such as account passwords.

They usually attack with one of two methods:

  • They cast a wide net

    Some scammers "maximize their scope" instead of "going deep". In this case, they will spread fraudulent information everywhere, using it as bait for potential victims.

    One technique is to post advertisements on social media, promoting investment products in the name of celebrity ambassador who will share investment "secrets" with you. Eventually this will lead to them asking you to give them your personal information such as credit card information, either over the internet or the phone.

  • Spearhead phishing

    However, just because you stay alert to fraudulent advertisements, fake websites and scam calls doesn't mean you are safe. Sometimes, scammers reverse their technique and go deep instead of maximizing their scope. In this case, they will target someone very specifically.

    They may create fake social media accounts, add you as a "friend", and then slowly start asking you for money. These criminals will carefully study your social media posts to understand your preferences, work, experiences and social circles, so they can create an intimacy that will put you at ease and make it easier to trick you into taking the bait.

Security environment icon used for hsbc how to protect yourself.

How can you prevent fraud?

  • Do not disclose your personal information easily

    Scammers will do everything possible to trick you into providing them with your personal information. Remember that an HSBC representative will never ask you to disclose your:

    1. One-time password (OTP)

    2. Account password

    3. Credit Card Security Code

    Never provide this confidential information over the phone, SMS or via email to anyone claiming to be HSBC staff. If you are not certain, please check with us or report it to us directly. Do not use the contacts provided by the suspicious email.

  • Enable two-factor authentication (2FA)

    Please enable two-factor authentication or biometric authentication to protect your account from being stolen. Learn how to enable related features to protect your financial account.

  • Avoid sharing too much personal information on social media

    Be cautious about sharing personal information on social media, which might be used by fraudsters.

  • If you suspect a scam, please report it to us immediately

    If you think you might have encountered fraud, please report it to us immediately. It's fast and easy.

Social engineering attacks are powerful in the way they manipulate human nature and psychology. They come in a surprising number of stories, which makes them tricky to identify. But as long as you stay alert and stay calm, you'll be able to spot the flaws in their lies. For more tips on preventing fraud, please read our "Three rules to prevent fraud" and take a big step towards protecting your data and property.