魔鬼在细节 - 申请贷款前 6 个要点

“贷款额高达 HK$1,000,000 或月薪 20倍!”、“月平息低至 0.1% !”、“实际年利率低至 1.9% !”这些贷款宣传标语,相信大家不会陌生。不过,你知道这些标语的背后,有什么含意?申请贷款前,必须了解清楚!

最多可借多少?

每个贷款计划的借贷额上限各有不同,可以超过百万元或月薪的十多倍。不过,借得到不等于要借最多,申请前应考虑实际需要及还款能力,申请超出实际所需的金额,便会白白支付利息,就算日后有能力提早还款,贷款机构通常设有罚款,弥补因利息收入减少所带来的损失。所以贷款宜以实际需要出发,不要被大贷款额及低息吸引。

分期贷款利息如何计算?

假设借贷 HK$100,000,月平息 0.3%,还款期 24 个月:
每月利息:HK$100,000 x 0.3% = HK$300
全期利息:HK$300 x 24个月 = HK$7,200

如果需要手续费,假设每年1%:
每年手续费:HK$100,000 x 1% = HK$1,000
全期手续费:HK$1,000 x 2 = HK$2,000

总还款额:HK$100,000 + HK$7,200 +HK$2,000=HK$109,200
每月还款额:HK$109,200 / 24 = HK$4,550

以上简化版计算方法只供参考,个别金融机构的计算方法或有不同。

月平息低就算实惠?

不少人以为,直接参考月平息,就可以判断贷款产品是否实惠。其实月平息只可让贷款人容易计出每月利息支出,但并未包括其他贷款成本,例如手续费、年费等。某些贷款计划带有利息/ 现金回赠的亦会有影响。

什么是实际年利率?

想比较不同贷款计划的总成本高低,可以参考实际年利率 ( Annualized Percentage Rate,又名“APR”) ,为了令借贷人更易理解借贷成本,金管局规定借贷公司按银行营运守则以同一方法计算 APR ,展示出贷款利息及所有其他费用包括手续费及年费等。故只需参考 APR,便可清楚知道借贷成本。简单而言,APR 愈低,借贷成本愈低!

最优惠息率如何批出?

申请时当然希望金融机构会批出最优惠息率。一般而言,金融机构所给出的利率,除根据贷款额及还款期外,还会以申请人的财政状况、偿债纪录、个人信贷评分、职业等因素作为参考,例如申请人任职医生、律师、公务员等、财政状况及个人信贷评级均良好,便有机会获批较优惠的息率。其实除了息率,银行亦会不时推出各种优惠例如现金回赠及豁免手续费,所以选择贷款时宜先货比三家,不要单单只被低息吸引。

信贷评分有影响?

近年经常听到“信贷评分”这个名词,其实它是由申请人的贷款及信用卡使用状况、还款纪录、欠债、甚至破产等计算出来。还款是否准时,有没有过期未还纪录,都会影响信贷评分。一般而言,银行在审批贷款申请时,申请人的信贷评分愈高,利率会较优惠。相反,信贷评分愈低,除了利率,还会影响贷款额,甚至申请不获接纳。

如有借贷需要,可以找汇丰帮手。分期“万应钱”设有固定还款额及长达 60 个月还款期,让你可根据自己负担能力来拟定还款模式;如想享有弹性还款期,则可考虑循环“万应钱”。若于汇丰设有出粮户口或有入息证明记录,更可加快批核时间。

立即申请

您是否汇丰网上理财现有客户?

借定唔借?还得到先好借!

The devil is in the details - 6 points to note before applying for a loan

We are all familiar with loan promotion slogans like “Loan amount of up to HK$1,000,000 or 20 times your monthly salary!”, “Monthly flat rate as low as 0.1%!” and “Annualized Percentage Rate as low as 1.9%!” However, do you understand the implications of these slogans? Make sure you thoroughly understand before applying for a loan!

What is the maximum amount that could be borrowed?

The borrowing limit for each loan scheme varies. It could be over a million dollars or over ten times one’s monthly salary, but this doesn’t mean that we have to borrow up to the limit. You should consider your actual needs and ability to repay before applying for a loan. Borrowing more than needed incurs unnecessary interest payments. Even though you might be able to repay earlier, you would probably have to pay a penalty imposed by the lenders in order to compensate their loss of interest income. Therefore, the borrowing amount should be based on actual needs. Don’t just focus on a large loan amount and low interest rate.

How to calculate interests for instalment loans?

Suppose a customer borrows HK$100,000, with a monthly flat rate of 0.3% and a repayment period of 24 months:
Monthly interest: HK$100,000 x 0.3% = HK$300
Interest for the whole period: HK$300 x 24 months = HK$7,200

Assuming a 1% handling charge per annum is required:
Handling charge per annum: HK$100,000 x 1% = HK$1,000
Handling charge for the whole period: HK$1,000 x 2 = HK$2,000

Total repayment amount: HK$100,000 + HK$7,200 +HK$2,000=HK$109,200
Monthly repayment amount: HK$109,200 / 24 = HK$4,550

The simplified calculation above is for reference only. The actual calculation methods for individual financial institutions could be different.

Does a low monthly flat rate mean a good deal?

In determining whether a loan plan is good or not, many people think that a direct comparison of monthly flat rates is the answer. In fact, monthly flat rates is used to calculate the monthly interest expense only, other costs such as handling charges and annual fees are yet to include. Some loan schemes offered with interest /cash rebates which have not been counted as well.

What is Annualized Percentage Rate?

To compare the total costs of different loan schemes, borrowers should take a close look at the Annualized Percentage Rate (APR). For customers’ easy understanding, the Hong Kong Association of Banks requires all lending institutions to use the same method to calculate APR in accordance with the Code of Banking Practice, thereby showing loan interest and all other expenses, including handling fees, annual fees etc. Simply put, the lower the APR, the lower the borrowing cost!

How to get the most preferential rate?

Of course, borrowers wish to get the most preferential rate when applying for a loan. Other than requested loan amount and repayment period, financial institutions would also consider other factors such as applicant’s financial status, debt servicing record, personal credit score and occupation. For example, if the applicant is a doctor, lawyer, civil servant etc with good financial status and a good personal credit score, a more preferential rate would probably be offered. From time to time, banks would provide different kinds of special offers such as cash rebates and waivers of handling fees. Borrowers should shop around and carefully compare all promotional offer and don’t just focus on a low rate.

Could credit scores also affect loan approval?

The term “credit score” been often used in recent years. This score is calculated with reference to the borrowing and credit card usage status, repayment record, debt and even bankruptcy record of the applicant. Whether a repayment is on time or overdue will affect the credit score. Generally speaking, during the loan approval process, the higher the credit score of the applicant, the more preferential the interest rate. On the contrary, if the credit score is low, not only the interest rate but also the approved loan size would be affected. The loan application might even be declined in such a case.

Talk to HSBC if you have borrowing needs. HSBC’s Personal Instalment Loan offers a fixed repayment amount with a repayment period of up to 60 months. You can make your repayment plan according to what you can afford. If you want a flexible repayment, you may also consider HSBC’s Revolving Credit Facility. The approval time can be even shorter for applicants who have payroll accounts or proof of income records at HSBC.

Apply Now

Are you an HSBC Internet Banking customer?

To borrow or not to borrow? Borrow only if you can repay!