主內容首部

投資

常見問題

投資

甚麼因素會影響錢財的價值?

由於產品和服務的價格不斷上升,故幣值會隨時間而降低,這便是通貨膨脹。幣值會受以下因素侵蝕

  • 通脹:簡單來說,產品和服務的價格上升,就會造成通脹。當物價上升,受薪人士便會要求加薪,隨著通脹加劇,貨幣的購買力便不斷減弱。 
  • 利率波動:當利率下降,存款的利息回報便會減少。如果存款利率低於通脹,儲蓄便會失去原有的價值。但某類投資如股票和債券等卻可能因息口下降而升值。

所以您必須您制訂理財計劃,以保障未來,並賺取合理的投資回報來配合財政需要。

債券

甚麼是債券?

債券是由政府、公司或其他機構發行的一種借貸票據。當您購入債券,即等同向發行者提供貸款,發行者則承諾於債券到期日以指定價格贖回債券,而在到期日前則須支付指定的利息。債券的種類繁多,不同的發行者以不同的條款發行債券。例如:定息債券、浮息債券、零息債券及存款證等。

一般來說,債券及存款證的回報比較穩定。目前,滙豐可代客買賣多種債券和存款證,除備有多種主要貨幣選擇外,客戶亦可選擇不同債券發行機構,包括政府,如中國政府、美國政府及香港特區政府等,或本地著名的半官方機構,超國機構及世界知名的公司。此外,債券年期由一年至三十年不等,而票面收益亦各異,選擇眾多,能符合投資者的不同需要。投資金額低至港幣1萬元。

通脹掛鈎債券

為何我經滙豐IPO申請獲分配的通脹掛鈎債券以債務工具於中央結算系統(CMU) 作清算及儲存 ?

根據通脹掛鈎債券發行通函, 若客戶經配售銀行申請該債劵, 所分配的債券會以債務工具中央結算系統(CMU)作清算,及在銀行的債券買賣服務透過場外交易買賣。

銀色債券

為何我經匯豐IPO申請獲分配的銀色債券以債務工具於中央結算系統(CMU) 作清算及儲存 ? 

根據銀色債券發行通函,若客戶經配售銀行申請銀色債劵,所分配的銀色債券會以債務工具於中央結算系統(CMU)作清算。

海外證券服務

甚麼是證券?

證券是一般可在股票市場交易之投資工具的統稱。任何人士均可透過經紀或銀行從事證券投資,並可從每日的報章或互聯網觀察投資行情。 

證券投資的回報潛力一般高於儲蓄戶口。在經濟蓬勃的地區,只要假以時日,股市一般都會出現增長,有時更會在短時間內急升。但是,股市波動在所難免,所以購買證券不應視為一種短線的謀利方法。

購買證券需要支付有關的交易費用,例如經紀佣金。如果要享有交收的便利,您可考慮採用銀行證券買賣服務。

除了自行投資證券外,您亦可委託專業投資管理人員或公司代勞。

 

美股買賣

那些人可以使用滙豐美股買賣服務?

美股買賣服務適用於以下人士:

* 「非專業訂戶」的其中一個條件為客戶並非從事於投資顧問的工作。簡單來說,「投資顧問」指任何直接或經刊物或文字向他人就股票價值或買賣股票提出建議並收取報酬的人士,或任何定期發行或發表股票分析或報告並收取報酬的人士。

股票月供投資計劃

參加滙豐的「股票月供投資計劃」有什麼好處?

您可以:

  • 以符合預算的金額購入股票
  • 透過「成本平均法」減低投資風險
  • 享受中長線投資所帶來的較高回報潛力
  • 迎合個人的儲蓄投資需要

單位信託基金

甚麼是單位信託基金?我怎受惠於基金投資?  

 

單位信託基金亦稱互惠基金為投資者提供多元化投資機會,方法是由基金經理把眾投資者的資金,匯聚成一筆龐大基金,用以在廣泛地區及市場作不同的投資。所以,即使個人的投資額不大,投資者亦可參予全球各地市場的證券、債券、貨幣及商品投資。這種多元化投資稱為投資組合。 

單位信託基金提供多項有利因素:

  • 分散風險:由於分散投資,故基金的風險通常低於投資單一股票。但不同的基金,其風險和回報的水平,當然亦會有差異。
  • 專業管理:基金經理的日常工作主要是研究和管理投資。個人投資者一般很難像基金經理對全球市場有透徹的認識,但如果購買單位信託基金,便可享有基金經理提供的專業知識。
  • 投資全球市場:透過單位信託基金,您的資金可運用於個人投資者未必能夠涉足的海外市場,從而擴闊投資範疇。 
  • 經濟效益:由於大量投資者的資金以單一基金處理,故能平均攤銷經營成本和佣金,減低個人投資者支付的費用。 
  • 流動性:您可在任何交易日(但基金所掛屬國家的公眾假期除外)買賣單位信託基金,增加資金流動性。

 

有些單位信託基金產品與各證券交易所上市的指數期權掛屬,亦有時與貨幣期權掛屬。這種基金的風險略高於多元化的基金組合。

結構投資產品

什麼是結構投資產品?它是如何運作的?

結構投資產品是涉及衍生工具的投資產品,其回報﹑到期金額及/或其結算方法是參照1) 任何一項或多於一項的參考資產的價格、價值或水平的變動; 及/或 2) 任何事件的發生或不發生而釐定。

高息投資存款

當「高息投資存款」的存款日為提交指示之後第2個營業日,如何計算綜合理財戶口有抵押信貸的信貸比例?  

若已於交易日(Trade Date) 開立「高息投資存款」並處於存款日(Deposit Date)之前的時間:

  • 如以外幣作為存款貨幣,該筆已保留於戶口作為扣除交易所需的款項將會從戶口可用結餘 (account available balance) 中扣除並不會納入有抵押信貸的計算。因此有抵押信貸的信貸額將會下降,基於外幣存款在「高息投資存款」交易日之前被計算為有抵押信貸的信貸額。
  • 如以港元作為存款貨幣,該筆已保留於戶口作為扣除交易所需的款項將亦會從戶口可用結餘 (account available balance) 中扣除並不會納入有抵押信貸的計算。但基於港元存款在「高息投資存款」交易日之前已不納入為有抵押信貸的信貸額,因此有抵押信貸的信貸額不會受影響。

 

在「高息投資存款」存款日(Deposit Date)當日(即交易日之後第2個營業日),以任何貨幣作為存款貨幣的交易金額將會納入計算為有抵押信貸的信貸額,直至到期日為止。

 

外匯

如何經滙豐投資外匯? 

您可以經滙豐透過多種方法投資外匯。您可使用24小時外幣兌換服務讓您隨時隨地透過網上理財或流動理財設立兌換指示。

若您對個別外幣有特定的目標兌換價,您可透過外匯限價買賣服務預設指示。

若您想以定期儲蓄的形式累積外幣或人民幣,您可透過外幣/人民幣轉存服務預設兌換指示,我們會根據您的預設指令自動替您執行指示。

「首次公開招股」(IPO)

何謂「首次公開招股」(IPO)?

「首次公開招股」(IPO)是指一間公司首次向公眾投資者發行新股,債券或銀行發行的存款證。此類股票,債券或存款證有可能在證券交易所上市買賣。

外匯孖展買賣服務常見問題

什麼是市價盤?

市價盤在發出交易指示時即時成交,以執行現行的市場匯率訂價。下市價盤時, 交易一般以、或以十分接近提交指示時顯示出來的價格執行。然而,由於外匯匯率快速轉變的性質,價位的變動可能超過您願意接受的水平。

有見及此,滙豐外匯孖展買賣平台容許您在每一交易指示設定上下限;當市場匯率跌至您指定的限價以外,有關限價盤將中止成交。 客戶亦可在市價盤內設置止蝕、獲利和移動止蝕指示。

外匯孖展買賣服務系統技術指南

為什麼我不能連接到外匯孖展買賣平台?  

當您從網頁登錄到外匯孖展買賣平台,會出現一個彈出窗口。

  原因
解決辦法
1 安裝的軟件不允許彈出窗口加載交易平台。                                                                                                                                                                                                                                         
您可以配置軟件,使它允許從外匯孖展買賣平台彈出窗
2
Java插件高速緩存中被損壞。

您可以清除Java高速緩存(見問題6 - 如何清除我的Java高速緩存)
3
您的計算機有"防火牆背後"的錯誤。

您可以檢查“防火牆背後”的錯誤是否是由硬件路由器引起的。從Windows開始菜單,點擊運行,鍵入CMD。一旦黑色命令提示符出現,鍵入ipconfig並按下ENTER。如果您的IP地址是以192或10開始,您有一個硬件路由器。如果沒有,您是直接連接到互聯網。如果您的計算機有硬件防火牆,請確保當您訪問外匯孖展買賣平台時,端口443(默認的HTTPS端口)是開放的。
4
您的Java版本不是最新的。 
外匯孖展買賣平台是由Java1.5或以上版本支持。您可從http://java.com下載最新的Java版本。

 

 

如果您有任何問題,請致電滙豐卓越理財客戶專線  (852)2233 3322 ,滙豐運籌理財客戶專線 (852)2748 8333,或其他個人理財客戶專線  (852)2233 3000 。 

其他

我應該從何著手投資? 

您首先需要了解個人的理財需要或投資目標、財政狀況及風險取向。

您的目標可包括應付以下各項需要: 

  • 保障家人
  • 子女教育
  • 退休策劃 
  • 管理及累積財富
  • 遺產規劃

您亦須考慮您的目標,投資年期,可承擔的投資金額及個人的投資偏好。

Top of main content

Investments

Frequently asked questions (FAQs)

Investments

What affects the value of money?

Money has a tendency to lose its value over time because the price of goods and services has an upward tendency. This is called inflation. Here are some factors that could eat away your money:

  • Inflation. Simply, inflation occurs when the price of goods and services rises. And when prices rise, people will ask for a rise in salary. That's why the money you earn today will be worth less 10 years from now.
  • Interest rate fluctuations. A drop in interest rates means a smaller return on your deposits, and if the interest rate is lower than the rate of inflation, your savings lose value. But for some investments, such as equities and bonds, the value of your investment may rise because of the drop in interest rates.

 

Therefore it is crucial that you have a financial plan to protect your future and to put your money where it generates reasonable returns to meet your needs.

Bonds

What are bonds?

Bonds are credit notes issued by governments, corporations or other issuers to bondholders. As a bondholder, you are extending credit to these issuers and they are obligated to repay the redemption value of the bond upon maturity, as well as a rate of interest during the life of the bond. There are many types of bonds from different issuers that vary in their terms. Some examples include the fixed rate bond, floating rate bond, zero coupon bond and convertible bond as well as Certificates of Deposit (CDs).
In general, bonds and CDs offer comparatively safe returns. At HSBC, we currently offer bonds and CDs issued by governments including PRC, US and HKSAR, local quasigovernment bodies, supranationals and well-known corporations around the world denominated in major currencies. There is also a wide selection of tenors or terms from which to choose, i.e., from 1 to 30 years with various benchmark yields. The minimum investment amount can be as low as HKD10,000.

iBond

Why my allotted iBond holding in HSBC is settled in CMU?

According to the iBond Issue Circular, if a customer applied iBond via placing Bank, the allotted iBond will be held through Central Moneymarkets Units (CMU), a debt securities custodian. The allotted iBond can be traded at Over-the Counter (OTC) through the Bank's Bond Trading Services.

Silver Bond

Why my allotted Silver Bond holding in HSBC is settled in CMU?

According to the Silver Bond Issue Circular, if a customer applied Silver Bond via placing Bank, the allotted Silver Bond will be held through Central Moneymarkets Units (CMU), a debt securities custodian.

Overseas Securities Service

What are securities?

Securities is the generic name for shares and other investment tools quoted on the stock market. Individuals may invest in securities, either through a broker or through their bank, and can check the progress of their investment every day in the newspapers or on the Internet.
It is possible to enjoy a higher rate of return from investing in securities than from savings accounts. Stock market securities in thriving economic climates will generally show an increase over time, and sometimes within a very short period. However, all stock markets are volatile and buying securities should not be seen as a short-term method of making money.
Buying securities also costs money. Stockbrokers make various charges for their services, such as commission. You may consider taking advantage of convenient payment and reimbursement terms by dealing through your bank. 
Other than investing in securities by yourself, you can assign asset management professionals or companies to invest on your behalf.

US Stock

Who is eligible for the US Stock Trading Service?

Customers are eligible for signing up for the U.S. Stock Trading Service if they are

  • Non-U.S. persons
  • Able to provide a valid identification document such as permanent Hong Kong Identity Card or passport.
  • Non professional market data subscribers* (Please refer to the NYSE Market Data Agreement [PDF]. for details.)

* One of the criteria for being classified as 'Non-professional' subscribers is not being engaged as an investment advisor. In brief, "Investment adviser" means any person who, for compensation, engages in the business of advising others, either directly or through publications or writings, as to the value of securities or as to the advisability of investing, purchasing, or selling securities, or who, for compensation and as part of a regular business, issues or promulgates analyses or reports concerning securities.

Stocks Monthly Investment Plan

What are the key benefits of the Stocks Monthly Investment Plan?

You can

  • participate in the equity market even with limited capital
  • reduce investment risk by using Dollar Cost Averaging
  • enjoy potentially higher return than general deposits as a medium-to long-term investment
  • meet your targeted investment needs

Unit trusts

What are unit trusts? How can I benefit from unit trusts investment?

Unit trusts (or mutual funds) give investors the opportunity to diversify even a small investment in securities, bonds, currencies and commodities in markets around the world. This is achieved by combining the resources of many investors into one large fund which can be spread over a number of different investments and over a wide geographical area. This range of investments is called a portfolio.

Unit trusts have a number of benefits:

  • Spreading the risk. You spread your investment across a diverse portfolio. This is usually safer than investing in a single share. Of course, levels of risk and return also vary among different funds.
  • Professional management. Fund managers spend their working lives researching and managing investments. It would be very difficult for an individual to have an in-depth knowledge of markets around the world. With a unit trust, their expertise is working for you.
  • Access to worldwide markets. Your money can be invested in overseas markets, which may not be easily accessible by individuals.
  • Economies of scale. With a large number of investors contributing to a single fund, operating costs and commissions can be amortised. Individual investors thus pay lower fees.
  • Liquidity. You can buy and sell unit trusts on any dealing day (except on public holidays in the countries to which your fund is linked). Your money need not be tied up for a specific period of time.

 

Some unit trust products are linked to the index options listed on the various stock exchanges or sometimes to currency options. They can be slightly riskier than more diverse funds.

Structured Products

What are Structured Products? And How does it work?

Structured Products are investment instruments embedded with derivatives, under which the return, the amount due and/or the method of settlement is determined by reference to 1) changes in the price, value and/or level of one or more reference underlying assets; and/or 2) the occurrence or non-occurrence of an event.

Deposit Plus

How is the Integrated Account Secured Credit Facility Loan Ratio calculated when the Deposit Plus deposit date is 2 business days after the application submission?

After the Deposit Plus order placement on trade date and before deposit date:

  • For order with deposit currency in foreign currency (FCY), the order 'hold amount' will be deducted from the account available balance and thus will not be included in the Credit limit of Secured Credit Facility calculation. The Credit limit of Secured Credit Facility will drop during the period accordingly since FCY deposit has been included in the Credit limit of Secured Credit Facility calculation before trade date.
  • For order with deposit currency in HKD, the order 'hold amount' will also be deducted from the account available balance and will not be included in the Credit limit of Secured Credit Facility calculation. Yet, the Credit limit of Secured Credit Facility will not be affected during the period since HKD deposit has not been included in the Credit limit of Secured Credit Facility calculation before trade date.

 

On DPS deposit date, i.e. on trade date + 2 business days,

- Order amount in any deposit currency will be included in the calculation of Credit limit of Secured Credit Facility until it is uplifted on maturity date.

Foreign Exchange

How can I invest in foreign currency with HSBC?

You can invest in foreign currency with HSBC via a number of ways. You can use our 24-Hour Foreign Exchange Service to place your exchange instruction anytime anywhere via internet or mobile banking.

If you have a target exchange rate in mind, you can use our FX Order Watch Trading Service to preset your instruction.

If you want to accumulate your foreign currencies or RMB via regular saving, you can use the ForEx / RMB Switching Service to preset your exchange instructions and we will automatically execute the instructions for you according to your preset criteria.

IPO

What is an IPO?

IPO stands for Initial Public Offering. It is the first time a company issues securities/bonds to investors. The newly issued securities/bonds may be listed on a stock exchange.

Marginal FX (Business FAQ)

What is a Market Order?

A market order is executed immediately when placed and is priced at the prevailing market rate at the time of execution. When placing a market order, the transaction is usually executed at, or very near, the price displayed when the order was submitted. However, due to the rapidly changing nature of FX exchange rates, it is possible for the rate to move more than you are willing to accept.

To address this, HSBC Margin FX platform enables you to place upper and lower bound on each order that will prohibit the order's execution if the market rate falls outside the limits you specify. The customer is also allowed to set up stop loss, take profit and trailing stop instructions under Market Order.

Marginal FX (Technical FAQ)

Why can't I connect to the Margin FX Trading Platform?

When you log on to the Margin FX Trading Platform from the web, a pop-up window appears.

 

  Cause Solution
1 The pop-up block software installed does not allow the trading platform to load. You can configure the software so that it allows the pop-ups from Margin FX Trading Platform.
2 The Java plug-in cache is corrupted. You can clear the Java cache (See Q6 - How do I clear my Java cache?)
3 Your computer has 'behind the firewall' error. You can check if the 'behind the firewall' error is caused by hardware router. From the Windows start menu, click Run and type CMD. Once the black command prompt comes up, type IPCONFIG and press enter. If your IP address starts with 192 or 10, you have a hardware router. If not, you are directly connected to the Internet. If your computer is behind a hardware firewall, please make sure port 443(default port for HTTPS) is open when your access the Margin FX trading platform.
4 Your Java version is not upto-date. Margin FX Trading Platform is supported by Java version 1.5 or above. You can download the most updated Java version from http://java.com.

If you have any problems, please call (852) 2233 3322 for HSBC Premier customers, (852) 2748 8333 for HSBC Advance customers or (852) 2233 3000 for other Personal Banking customers

Others

What should I do before I start investing?

You should know your financial need or investment objective, your current financial situation and risk tolerance.

Your objectives could incorporate any combination of the following:

  • Protection for your family
  • Education for your children
  • Managing and growing wealth
  • Legacy planning

You should also understand how much your target is, how long you want to invest, how much you can invest and your own investment preferences.