一般規定

法例訂明,僱主必須在供款日限期或以前,向受託人繳付全數強制性供款。就非臨時僱員而言,或許他們有不同的支薪周期,例如每星期,每月或每季支薪,僱主都必須在供款日,即供款期完結的所在月份之後的一個月份的第10日或以前,支付全數強制性供款,並成功向受託人匯報所需的供款資料,包括i)僱員於供款期內的有關入息、ii)僱主與僱員的強制性供款金額,及iii)僱主與僱員的自願性供款金額(如有 )。

由於受託人是根據僱主所提供的供款資料來處理僱員的強制性供款,所以僱主於支付供款時,必須同時於限期前向受託人匯報有關的供款資料。匯豐強積金為僱主提供多種匯報供款資料及支付供款的方法,無論選用那一種方法,僱主必須於供款日或以前,經授權途徑把有關完整的供款資料及支票(如適用),遞交至強積金行政部處理。有關授權途徑及注意事項,請參閱一般支援部分。

  • 付款方法
    支票(連同有關的供款詳情郵寄至指定的郵遞地址或投進匯豐強積金寄存辦理箱)
    直接付款
  • 匯報僱員供款資料的方法
    書面付款結算書
    匯豐商務「網上理財」強積金服務
    其他電子方式

徵收拖欠強制性供款附加費的原因

如上文所述,按法例規定,僱主必須於供款日或以前將全數強制性供款金額及有關的供款資料一併送交受託人;否則,受託人必須於供款日後的10日內,向強積性公積金管理局(「積金局」)匯報有關拖欠的強制性供款。受託人向積金局匯報僱主拖欠供款的情況主要包括以下四種:

  1. 欠交強制性供款,或未有繳付全數金額,此包括了僱主與僱員供款兩部分;
  2. 過期繳付僱主及╱或僱員部分的強制性供款 (即使供款金額正確,但受託人未有在供款日或以前收到供款,亦被視為過期供款) ;
  3. 付款結算書未有提供全部的所需資料,包括漏報及╱或填寫錯誤資料,以致受託人無法根據付款結算書確定僱主與僱員各須支付多少強制性供款額;及╱或
  4. 僱主沒有向受託人以書面方式匯報個別離職僱員。僱主必須於限期前向受託人匯報非臨時僱員的離職詳情*及繳付最後一期強制性供款。有關匯報非臨時僱員的離職方法,請瀏覽「匯報僱員離職」部分。匯報離職及支付供款的限期為該僱員離職月份後的一個曆月的第十天。

成功支付強制性供款的僱主,將收到由匯豐強積金發出的「強積金供款確認書」(以匯豐商務「網上理財」強積金服務遞交供款資料的僱主將以電子方式收到「購入基金確認書」);否則,逾期供款的情況下,不論少付了或是完全沒有支付強制性供款,我們將向僱主發出相關的信件:包括「強積金供款提示」信件寄予沒有支付供款的僱主,及「強制性供款差額賬單」寄予供款未達全數的僱主,以提示您尚有欠款,請盡快安排供款。不論是未有繳付、過期繳付或尚欠強制性供款的情況,均屬於拖欠供款,受託人會按照法例,向積金局匯報有關欠款詳情。

* 所有填寫在不適當的位置或白紙上的離職資料均不會被處理。

附加費通知書

積金局接獲受託人匯報有關僱主拖欠強制性供款後,便會根據受託人提供的欠款詳情,向有關僱主發出附加費通知書,以徵收相等於百分之五的拖欠供款金額作附加費。僱主在接獲附加費通知書後,應直接向受託人查詢,了解拖欠供款的紀錄是否有誤,及徵收附加費的原因是否充足。

  • 支付拖欠強制性供款及附加費
    如僱主並不反對被徵收附加費,應向受託人確認拖欠的總供款額及有關繳付附加費的行政手續。僱主必須在附加費通知書上列明的限期前,把拖欠的強制性供款金額及所需的附加費一併支付受託人。此外,僱主亦須另外向受託人提交一份付款結算書,提供每名被拖欠供款的僱員姓名、被拖欠的供款額及附加費金額。受託人將按付款結算書上的資料,處理有關受影響僱員的拖欠供款額及附加費。如僱主未能在限期前支付拖欠供款,可被判罰款及監禁。有關違規情況及罰則的詳情,請瀏覽積金局網頁www.mpfa.org.hk
  • 強制性供款附加費上訴機制
    僱主若對被徵收附加費表示不同意,例如證明自己已於限期前全數支付供款;及/或已提交填妥的付款結算書,並確定所提供的資料正確無誤等情況下,您可向積金局提出上訴。

    申請上訴的限期為附加費通知書發出日起計14日內,僱主需連同填妥的「反對供款附加費表格」及有關的供款證明文件遞交積金局。「反對供款附加費表格」可於積金局網頁下「僱主專用」頁面內的「提出反對供款附加費」部分下載。

    積金局在接獲有關上訴申請後,個案將交由受託人作出調查。若查明沒有僱員被拖欠供款,積金局將會撤銷附加費。否則,上訴被駁回,僱主必須立即繳付附加費。 

精明提示

  • 避免行政工作失誤
    僱主在辦理支付強制性供款事宜時,應避免行政工作的失誤而被徵收附加費。以下是各種付款方法所需注意的事項,以確保款項在限期前成功提交受託人:
各種付款方法注意事項表:
繳款方法
注意事項
郵寄支票
確保銀行戶口內有足夠金額兌現支票,並預留足夠郵遞時間
把支票投進匯豐指定分行的匯豐強積金寄存辦理箱
確保銀行戶口內有足夠金額兌現支票,把支票投進強積金寄存辦理箱
直接付款
確保銀行戶口內有足夠金額以供扣賬
各種付款方法注意事項表:
繳款方法
郵寄支票
注意事項
確保銀行戶口內有足夠金額兌現支票,並預留足夠郵遞時間
繳款方法
把支票投進匯豐指定分行的匯豐強積金寄存辦理箱
注意事項
確保銀行戶口內有足夠金額兌現支票,把支票投進強積金寄存辦理箱
繳款方法
直接付款
注意事項
確保銀行戶口內有足夠金額以供扣賬
  • 準時為新僱員匯報首次強積金供款
    您必須自行於付款結算書上的「新僱員部分(首次作出供款的僱員)」部分填寫新僱員的資料,並準時支付其強制性供款。否則,將被視為逾期供款,僱主會被徵收附加費。請不要留待新僱員的紀錄列載於付款結算書上才作首次供款安排。有關如何計算僱員首次供款,請參閱「首次供款」部分 。
  • 正確填寫付款結算書
    僱主有責任確保付款結算書上的資料準確齊全,並應特別留意以下部分:
    1. 供款額必須計算準確;
    2. 若僱員在某供款期內並沒有任何入息,其付款結算書上的「有關入息」空格應填上「0」;
    3. 遞交書面付款結算書前請確定授權人士已簽署,並蓋上公司印章,及註明日期;
    4. 保留付款結算書的副本及記錄遞交付款結算書的日期及遞交渠道,以供日後作實。

General rules

According to regulations, employers should pay mandatory contributions in full to the trustee on or before the contribution day. For non-casual employees, no matter how often they get paid, whether on a weekly, monthly or quarterly basis, employers should fully pay the mandatory contributions and remit all necessary contribution information, including i) the relevant income of the employee in respect of the contribution period, ii) the contribution amount of both the employers and employees, and iii) the voluntary contribution amount of both the employers and employees (if any), by the contribution day, this is the 10th day of the month following the calendar month when the last day of the contribution period falls.

Since the trustee processes mandatory contributions of their employees according to contribution information provided by employers, therefore, while employers are making contribution payments, they should at the same time remit the relevant contribution information to the trustee by the deadline. HSBC MPF provides employers with a range of methods for remitting contribution information and making contribution payments. No matter which method they take, they should send the completed contribution information by cheque (if applicable) to the MPF Department through authorised channels on or before the contribution day. For more information on authorised channels and other important points to note, please check General Support.

  • Payment methods
    Cheque (together with contribution details sent by post to designated mailing address or placed into the HSBC MPF Drop-In Box)
    Direct debit
  • Ways to remit contribution details for employees
    Remittance statement in paper form
    Business Internet Banking (BIB) MPF services
    Other electronic means

Reasons for imposing surcharges on default contributions

As stated above, according to regulations, employers should pay mandatory contributions in full and send the relevant contribution information to the trustee on or before the contribution day. Otherwise, trustees must report to the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority (MPFA) on the default mandatory contributions within 10 days after the contribution day. There are 4 circumstances under which trustees will report employers' default contributions to the MPFA:

  1. Unpaid or underpayment, which applies to both the employer's portion and employee's portion
  2. Late payment of the employer's and/or employee's portion of the mandatory contributions (contributions that reach the trustee after the deadline are regarded as late payments)
  3. Incomplete information on the remittance statement, including missing information and/or incorrect information provided. Without a properly filled remittance statement, the trustee is unable to verify the correct amount of contributions to be paid respectively by employers and employees
  4. Employers who fail to notify the trustee in writing of an employee's termination of employment. Employers must inform trustees about the details of employment cessation of every non-casual employee* and pay the final mandatory contributions before the deadline. For details on how to remit a non-casual employee's cessation of employment, please go to the 'Reporting termination of your employees' section. The deadline for remitting employment termination and paying contributions is the 10th day of a calendar month following the month when the employee's last day of employment falls

Employers who successfully pay the contributions will receive a 'Confirmation of MPF contribution' issued by HSBC MPF, while employers who submit contribution information via the BIB MPF Service will receive an electronic 'Fund purchase confirmation'. Under circumstances of default payments, either underpayment or unpaid payments, we will send the following mails to the employers by post, including 'Mandatory Contribution Reminder' for employers who have not paid the contributions, and 'Mandatory Contribution Discrepancy Bill' for employers who have a payment shortfall. These notices serve as a reminder of the outstanding contributions, and employers are required to settle them as soon as possible. Whether it is an unpaid, late payment or shortfall of payment, they are classified as default contributions. Trustees are obliged to report the cases to the MPFA in accordance to MPF legislations.

* We will not process the information of employment cessation written on the inappropriate areas or on blank papers.

Surcharge notice

The MPFA will issue a surcharge notice to relevant employers according to the default contribution details reported by the trustee. The surcharge is equal to 5% of the outstanding payment. Employers should check with the trustee directly to see if the default contribution records are correct or not, and if there are sufficient reasons to impose a surcharge.

  • Pay the outstanding contributions and surcharge
    If employers do not object to the surcharge imposed, they should confirm with the trustee the amount of outstanding contributions and the administration procedures to remit the surcharge. Employers should pay the outstanding mandatory contributions with all surcharges to the trustee by the deadline stated in surcharge notices. In addition, employers should submit a separate remittance statement to the trustee, with the name of the affected employees, the amounts of default contributions and surcharge due to them provided. Trustees will process the outstanding contributions and surcharge for the relevant affected employees according to the information from remittance statements. If employers do not pay the outstanding contributions in due time, it may result in a financial penalty and imprisonment. For more details about offences and penalties, please visit the MPFA website at www.mpfa.org.hk.
  • Filing an objection to surcharge
    If employer does not agree with the imposition of surcharge, and believe that there is no default contribution, which can be supported by, for example, a proven record of full payment by due date, and/or a record showing a completed remittance statement had been submitted with all information provided correctly. Under these circumstances, you can file an objection with the MPFA.

    Objections must be filed within 14 days from the date of the payment notice, and you have to return a completed 'Contribution Surcharge Objection Form' and the relevant payment records to MPFA by this deadline. 'Contribution Surcharge Objection Form' can be downloaded from 'Filing an objection to contribution surcharge' section under the page of 'For Employer' on the MPFA website.

    The MPFA will pass the case to the trustee for investigation upon receipt of the objection. If the result concludes that there is no default contribution, the MPFA will withdraw the surcharge. Otherwise, objections will be rejected, and employers must pay the surcharge immediately.

Smart tips

  • Avoid administrative errors
    Employers should avoid administrative errors that lead to surcharges when managing mandatory contribution payments. There are some points to be aware of regarding different ways of payment, to ensure payments can reach the trustee successfully before the deadline:
Payment methods points to note
Payment Methods
Points to note
Cheque by post
Make sure there are sufficient funds in your bank account to cover the cheque and reserve enough time for delivery
Place the cheque into the MPF drop-in box at designated branches
Make sure there are sufficient funds in your bank account to cover the cheque and place the cheque in HSBC MPF Drop-In Box
Direct debit
Make sure there are sufficient funds in your bank account for debiting
Payment methods points to note
Payment Methods
Cheque by post
Points to note
Make sure there are sufficient funds in your bank account to cover the cheque and reserve enough time for delivery
Payment Methods
Place the cheque into the MPF drop-in box at designated branches
Points to note
Make sure there are sufficient funds in your bank account to cover the cheque and place the cheque in HSBC MPF Drop-In Box
Payment Methods
Direct debit
Points to note
Make sure there are sufficient funds in your bank account for debiting
  • Remit first-time contributions for new employees on time
    You have to fill in the information of new employees under the 'New Employees Section (for employees who make 1st contribution)' on the remittance statement and duly pay the mandatory contributions. Late contributions will result in a surcharge charged. Please do not wait until the new employee's record is reflected on the remittance statement before making the first contribution. For details on how to calculate employees' first-time contributions, refer to the 'First Contributions' section. 
  • Correctly fill out the remittance statement
    As an employer, it is your obligation to ensure information provided on the remittance statement is complete and correct, especially on:
    1. The contribution amounts 
    2. If there is no income received throughout a contribution period, please fill the box of 'relevant income' on the remittance statement with a '0'
    3. Ensure that there is an authorised signature, company chop and date provided on the paper remittance statement
    4. Retain a copy of the remittance statement and keep a record of the submission date and submission channel of the remittance statement for verification in the future